Monday 11/1/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

It was so hot last week! Hot temperatures and hot winds have unfortunately led to devastating bushfires which is heartbreaking. The town of Yarloop in W.A.’s South West is almost gone – I really feel for the community who appears to have lost just about everything. I hope to help out a little by contributing to Baked Relief W.A. I’d love to contribute some books too (sometimes reading can be a way of escaping), but I’m not too sure if anyone is accepting them (or the fate of the Yarloop library). If you do know, please let me know.

My week was busy, but really I have nothing to complain about. I was very lucky to receive two books in the mail (sunnies are my own – hoping to get some reading done outside today):

Romance for Cynics by Nicola Marsh was a prize from Nicola. Thank you! The book is set around Valentine’s Day – Lucy hates it and Cashel’s PR team want him to enter a themed competition. Naturally, they fake it to win but will the deception become real? What I Saw by Beck Nicholas (out March) came from Harlequin. It’s a YA book about Callie, who saw a crime but isn’t particularly interested in clearing the name of bad boy Rhett. What is Callie hiding?

This is also the last of my Christmas books – cooking! Simply Nigella by Nigella Lawson looks delicious, while hopefully Everyday Super Food by Jamie Oliver helps to counteract the sweet goodies! Adam Liaw’s new book, Asian Cookery School looks easy to follow (and scrumptious) and Donna Hay’s Life in Balance is light and lean. The last book is Great Lego Sets, which came with a mini space cruiser.

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

Hold On to Me by Victoria Purman


What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

Print: In between books at present!

Up Next:

Likely to be Summers with Juliette by Emily Madden


16 thoughts on “Monday 11/1/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Add yours

  1. I had heard about the devastating fires. I think Bake Relief is a great thought.
    I’m also reading Victoria Purman’s book at the moment. I really love the setting for these books.
    A lovely haul of cookbooks.

  2. Have seen the Yarloop fires on our news every night. Devastating, don’t know how they come through it.
    Nice to see a Victoria Purman book among your reading. And like the sound of the Donna Hay book, my sister loves her books, probably has them all!

  3. Summers with Juliette sounds like a perfect read for your summer weather.

    Sorry to hear about the bushfires. Glad your community is rallying together and yes books can be a comfort/escape.

    All your cookbooks look scrumptious! Happy reading and cooking 🙂

  4. Pingback: Mailbox Monday

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

