2016 Challenge: Australian Women Writers

I used to do a lot of challenges. But then that made reading feel like work. So this year I’m taking part in only one challenge, but it’s one that I feel passionate about. It’s the Australian Women Writers challenge and it’s easy – read books by Australian women. I’ve chosen the Franklin level (read 10, review 6) – but I’ll be aiming to review all of them. I know I’m really likely to read more, but this is something I know I can achieve and then extend on. Hopefully I’ll find 10 new Australian women authors I love! This year, I’m also taking on an extra role – I’ll be writing the Romance and Erotica monthly roundups. So that’s an incentive for everyone to read more! You can sign up until November 2016 for the challenge.

How did I go with this challenge in 2015? I did the same level – Franklin – and this is how it turned out:

So I started off well, but flagged a little bit at times (April was reading The Baileys prize longlist, although I did do some judging on the side for another prize off blog) and er, December was just too busy. I read a total of 46 books by Aussie women in 2015, maybe I can improve in 2016!

What are your challenge plans this year?

11 thoughts on “2016 Challenge: Australian Women Writers

Add yours

  1. It’s the one reading challenge that I’m 100% committed to as well Sam. I’m also going for the Franklin level and really looking forward to February when the Stella Prize longlist is announced (always gives me a good list of contemporary literature to get stuck into).

  2. Like you, this is the only challenge I now do as it doesn’t feel like a challenge at all…it’s something I do 🙂

    Welcome aboard the AWW team – great to have you with us.

  3. My only reading aim this year is to read more books than last year. I’m sure I will achieve it. I do try to read a lot of Australian women authors.

  4. Can I send you an email? Harrison (as in Nantucket).

    From: Sam Still Reading Reply-To: Sam Still Reading Date: Saturday, 16 January 2016 1:00 PM To: Harrison Young Subject: [New post] 2016 Challenge: Australian Women Writers

    WordPress.com samstillreading posted: ” I used to do a lot of challenges. But then that made reading feel like work. So this year I’m taking part in only one challenge, but it’s one that I feel passionate about. It’s the Australian Women Writers challenge and it’s easy ­ read books by Austr”

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

