Monday 18/1/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Hello Monday. I’m not sure when January got so busy (normally nearly everyone is on holidays) but I think I’ve got something on nearly every day for the rest of the month! (Now is probably not the time to say I’m getting sick of catered food.) I did get to the shops on the weekend, but the bookstore I visited said that they were still waiting on their January deliveries, so I left empty handed. (I really wanted The Family Law by Benjamin Law – the TV show is so funny!) But I was very lucky and had some deliveries in the mail.

Girl Runner by Carrie Snyder is an apt title for this Goodreads win. The place that dispatched the book misread ‘Australia’ for ‘America’ and sent it there. Fortunately DHL worked out where I was and sent it on – express. Very kind! It’s about one of the first girl runners, Aganetha Smart, starting in Canada in the 1920s.

The Light on the Water by Olga Lorenzo (out March) was a win from Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room. It’s about Anne, who had been charged with her daughter’s murder after she disappeared on a camping trip. But is she innocent?

Rebound by Aga Lesiewicz was a surprise from Pan Macmillan. It’s out February and involves Anna’s growing obsession with an intriguing stranger who she met jogging. Thanks everyone for the great books!

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

Summers with Juliette by Emily Madden


What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

Print: Technically still have 30 pages of Summers of Juliette to read! (I’ll be finished by Monday).

Up Next:

The River House by Janita Cunnington


16 thoughts on “Monday 18/1/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Add yours

  1. Hi Sam,

    I can’t believe that January is half way through already and that signs of spring are already in the air. Granted, some parts of the UK are currently experiencing snow, but down here in the south, we have plenty of the wet stuff, so I’m not complaining!

    I’ll settle for ‘Rebound’ from your selection this week, in fact I thought I would search on NetGalley just in case and lo and behold, it is there for request. Fingers crossed that a copy will soon be heading my way 🙂

    Thanks for sharing and have a good week 🙂

    Yvonne

  2. Rebound sounds interesting, something a little bit different. I look forward to hearing what you thought of The Versions of Us too, since I have it on my very long wish list. Hope you find some time for reading in your busy summer schedule!

  3. How unfortunate for your local bookstore to have to wait for its January delivery when this month’s halfway over already. I can understand your disappointment walking out empty handed; it’s like me walking out w/no new yarn to horde from a yarn store.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

