Monday 8/2/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Happy lunar New Year – this is the year of the monkey, so I’m guessing it’s mean to be fun…we had a lot of fun reading Chinese horoscopes last week. I’m just pleased that my lucky colours match those of my Aussie Rules football team (the mighty West Coast Eagles)!

It’s going to be scorching over the next week or so with temperatures in excess of 40˚C (104˚F). I might be up late doing some reading!

I received two books in the mail. The first was a prize from Black Inc books, a copy of The Family Law by Benjamin Law. This memoir about a Chinese-Australian family in Queensland is hilarious, and so is the TV show that is now showing on SBS. Ben’s mum, Jenny, has the best one liners (think ‘no ring, no ding ding!’). Best of all, it’s signed by Benjamin Law (I am such a fangirl, I squealed when he liked my tweet)!

The second book, Our Song, by Dani Atkins was a lovely surprise from Simon & Schuster. I’ve been seeing it everywhere on the internet this week. It’s about two couples, whose lives are very interwoven until one day…many plot twists are promised!

I’ve continued with my fascination with Detroit in buying two more books on the topic. The Last Days of Detroit by Mark Binelli looks at modern Detroit – the downfall of Motor City and the uprising of new initiatives. Detroit A Biography by Scott Martelle is about the evolution of Detroit from its beginnings, the glory days and the collapse. I also bought a copy of Ukraine Diaries Dispatches from Kiev by Andrey Kurkov which looks at the events in the country over the last 18 months, from the Euromaidan to the separatist movement in the east of the country.

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:


Print:

Up Next:

12 thoughts on “Monday 8/2/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Add yours

  1. First I have seen of Our Song too. I remember reading a Dani Atkins book but can’t quite recall it now. I know temps in the 40’s, you people must be sizzling. Here we hit 31 and I thought I was never going to recover!

  2. Thanks for the mention of those Detroit books, I’m in that city for work now and again, and I have a soft spot for certain neighborhoods when I’m over there. (Ferndale? Corktown? YES!). It’s always fun to read the biography of a city.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

