Monday 15/2/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Yep, it was more than hot last week. Well over 40˚C some days – just too hot to do anything much! I didn’t do a great deal of reading – I think everyone was primarily focused on finding somewhere cool.

My lovely parcel post man continued working and bought several goodies to the door:

The Narrow Bed by Sophie Hannah was from Hachette and is the latest in the Culver Valley/Spilling CID series (Charlie and Simon are back!). It’s about a series of murders of best friends with an unusual motif – a small white book. But comedian Kim Tribbeck has received a book – and she doesn’t have a best friend. So what’s the twist?

Fever City by Tim Baker was a win from Allen & Unwin. It’s about a kidnapping that has two men trying to solve the puzzle, but then they become involved in something much bigger that JFK conspiracy buffs find decades later…

Wild by Nature by Sarah Marquis was a surprise from Allen & Unwin, but it was a perfect book to pick up and start reading. Sarah is an explorer and this is her story of walking from Siberia/Mongolia to Australia. The obstacles she comes across are varied and wide ranging but she’s strong and practical. It’s out in March.

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:


Print:

Up Next:

No idea!

12 thoughts on “Monday 15/2/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Add yours

  1. I would love to read all the books you have mentioned. Perhaps I should become a full time reader, no cooking, cleaning or even working!!! What a dream.

  2. Yes I know you are into the 40’s and we are into the 30’s – I don’t know how people cope in the 40’s. Are you enjoying the audiobook? Spent hours today choosing my next listen!

  3. Ummm….the 40s?!?! My word…I can’t even imagine. We sometimes get a few heat waves where temperatures get into the low 30s, and I can’t imagine trying to get anything done when the weather gets that hot. I don’t even think I could rain – my brain would have melted!

  4. I want some of your hot weather – we’ve had our coldest weather of the winter this past week. I agree with Laura – there sure do seem to be a lot of walking/hiking memoirs out there.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

