My Baileys Prize Wishlist 2016

I can’t really call this list of predictions…but then wishlist isn’t overly correct either. This is more a list of books I’ve loved, people whose opinions I respect have loved and books I’m desperate to read. As for wishlist, the Baileys Prize is one of the main lists I follow and without fail, I find some unknown gems every list. So while I hope that my list contains a few of the actual longlist, I’d also love to find some under the radar gems!

The Baileys Prize is for novel-sized fiction written by women in English where the novel has been published in the UK between 1st April 2015 and 31st March 2016. (Sadly, this means two of my Aussie favourites from 2015, Hope Farm by Peggy Frew and The Natural Way of Things Charlotte Wood aren’t eligible for this year’s prize – but they are for next year! Let’s call that an early prediction!). This year’s longlist will be announced on Tuesday 8th March while I’m fast asleep in Australia and the shortlist of six books will be announced on Monday 11th April. Then on Wednesday 8th June, the winner is announced! It’s going to be an exciting couple of months and I hope to read as many of the list as I can (availability in Australia permitting).

So here is my wishlist, a little biased towards Australia:

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

The Life and Death of Sophie Stark by Anna North

The Private Life of Mrs Sharma by Ratika Kapur

The Underwriting by Michelle Miller

The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop

A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Girl at War by Sara Novic

Dietland by Sarai Walker

The World Without Us by Mireille Juchau

The Ballroom by Anna Hope

The Butcher’s Hook by Janet Ellis

The Trouble With Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon

The Green Road by Anne Enright

Elemental by Amanda Curtin

Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta

Martin John by Anakana Schofield

Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh

Exposure by Helen Dunmore

I’ve linked my review of the books I’ve read above and there’s quite a few more on my TBR stack. I’ve heard so many great things about The Trouble With Goats and Sheep, it just had to be on list (even though trying to track it down here has been unsuccessful so far). The Underwriting is a bit of a roughie, but I thought it was brilliant. Oh and is it bad that I’ve already marked my diary as busy for early Wednesday morning to digest the list?

What do you think of my choices? Several wise bloggers have put together a predictions/wish list – do check them out:

5 thoughts on “My Baileys Prize Wishlist 2016

Add yours

  1. Like you, I’ve read a few of these and have even more in my TBR stack (including Goats and Sheep). I loved The Green Road and I finished Eileen earlier this week – an extraordinary book and I reckon it will be a very strong contender.

  2. Thanks for the link, Sam. We’ve got quite a few in common. I so hope The Private Life of Mrs Sharma makes the real thing, it hasn’t had anywhere near enough love and attention.

  3. I’ve been reading so many classics lately that seeing this list makes me realise how behind I am with contemporary stuff – not good for a bookseller!

    We have the goats and sheep at work if you’re still looking for a copy 🙂

    Good luck with your Wishlist.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

