Monday 7/3/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Happy Autumn! Unfortunately I can’t really tell you if the weather has changed because I’ve been busy last week and on the weekend. The air conditioner is still on though which must mean something!

I was fortunate to receive great books and surprises in the mail last week. First, Harrison Young’s first two novels from the author himself – this is great because I adored Nantucket (one of my favourite reads from 2015)! Submission is set in the desert country of Alidar and is about Philip and two women who have their eye on him. But it’s more than romance, there is intrigue and scandal in a world where nothing is as it seems. Partners is set in one of the best law firms in New York and includes a number of short stories exploring politics, romance and misbehaviour. It’s the secret life of lawyers. Many thanks Harrison!

Hachette kindly sent me two books I’ve had my eye on for March. Beloved Poison by E.S. Thomson
is a mystery set in St Saviour’s Infirmary, a place set in the past. When apothecary Jem stumbles upon a number of small coffins, her determination to find out their meaning will expose a number of secrets and emotions. Six-Four by Hideo Yokoyama (translated from the Japanese by Jonathan Lloyd-Davies) is also a mystery, of a kidnapped schoolgirl. Fourteen years later, a press officer finds an anomaly in the case that’s beyond imaginable – and then things get twisty.

Running Against the Tide by Amanda Ortlepp was a surprise from Simon & Schuster, which I’m looking forward to reading (US peeps, look out for her first novel, Claiming Noah soon!). It’s set on Australia’s beautiful Eyre Peninsula where Erin decides to run to with her two sons. But things start to go awry in the tiny community they live in and rumours abound as old jealousies are reignited as secrets are revealed.

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:


(About halfway through)

Print:

Up Next:

Baileys Prize longlist (revealed Tuesday!)

16 thoughts on “Monday 7/3/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Add yours

  1. Not much sign of Autumn here either, windows open and fan going – don’t have air con. I really enjoyed R Johns romance novel, I like her stories, she writes well.

  2. The books by Harrison Young look very good. You have received some lovely books this week. I also enjoy Rachael John’s books and have just started Outback Sisters.

  3. Oh, what great looking books! I love mysteries, and these look good. I also loved Maybe in Another Life. I’m curious about the Harrison Young books. Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. It must be so exciting to get books sent to you! I think we’re on the brink of spring here in my part of the world, and not a moment too soon, this winter has been grey and miserable.

  5. Running Against the Tide sounds good! I’ve also been eyeing Maybe in Another Life, it looked like something I could enjoy. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

