Monday 28/3/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Hello and happy Easter to you if you’re celebrating! It’s so lovely to have a few days off. I haven’t done too much reading of late, been out and about quite a lot with concerts, dinners and shopping (actually, quite a lot of the latter). I didn’t buy any books, although I did get some in the mailbox:

The gorgeous bag and The World Without Us by Mireille Juchau were prizes from The Stella Prize. The Stella Prize is Australia’s prize for women’s writing (both fiction and non-fiction). The book is shortlisted for this year’s prize and it’s about sister Tess and Meg. Tess stopped speaking months ago and things aren’t easy in the lives of their parents. As trees in the forest fall, the lives of the family change and they need to think about where they really belong.

I’m really excited to read Pamela Hart’s The War Bride, after loving The Soldier’s Wife last year. The story begins in 1920 as Margaret arrives in Sydney to meet her husband. But where is he and why are people saying he already has a wife? Margaret has to move on quickly, but as things settle, the past rears its head. Many thanks to Hachette for the copy.

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:

Nothing at the moment…having some music time

Print:

Up Next:

No idea!

15 thoughts on “Monday 28/3/16: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

