Mailbox Monday 18/4/16

Hello! As I mentioned in my last post, things have been a little crazy busy when it comes to a) getting thoughts down on keyboard and b) getting to a bookshop. (Even the bookish emails are going unread at the moment!) I think I’ve got about a week of this left before things start to settle down.

I’m particularly grateful for those who have sent me books over the last week, you can’t beat opening a surprise book parcel! I was also very lucky and won a prize too. I couldn’t resist getting a bit of afternoon light in there as well – so nice to have some sunny days!

The Secret Heiress by Luke Devenish was from Simon & Schuster. This looks like a great autumn read –history, a big house and a secret with Gothic undertones. It’s about Matilda, who is about to start work as a housemaid when the mistress dies. Unexpectedly, her fiancé wants her to stay on but when the will is revealed, it turns out there’s another Matilda in the picture. This woman just happens to be the secret heiress…

A French Wedding by Hannah Tunnicliffe
(released 26th April) was from Pan Macmillan. It’s about Max, about to declare his love for his best friend on his fortieth birthday. Juliette runs a boulangerie in her childhood home after giving up her dreams. Max’s birthday weekend might give her a new start…but at what cost?

The last book is Chris Cleave’s Everyone Brave is Forgiven, a prize from Hachette and Goodreads. (It’s released on 21st April). It’s set at the start of World War II and Mary, a new teacher is determined to stay put in London. Tom lives across the city and decides the war is not for him. But when his best friend signs up, everything goes haywire.

These books all look incredible – but which one first?

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:

Nothing at the moment…the book I want to listen to isn’t released for another week L

Print:

Up Next:

Most likely one of the mailbox reads!

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 18/4/16

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

