Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 25/4/16

Today is ANZAC (Australia and New Zealand Army Corps) day in Australia, reflecting on the landing in Gallipoli and all the conflicts Australia has fought in. I don’t think I’ll be at the Dawn Service, but I’ll certainly be taking some time to thank those who fought for our freedom and the ability for me to do whatever I want today.

I’ll definitely be doing some reading and writing some reviews. My desk is more piles of books than anything at the moment!

And in the mailbox…well, thank goodness again for our delightful Parcel Post man. He brought two prizes to my door (family stuff means it wasn’t a big shopping trip this week).

The first was an April Fool’s Day win from Books With Heart (part of Hachette Australia). I do think the best recovery for falling for an April Fool joke is a book prize – thank you!

The books are all romance themed, which is fine by me – I need some great romance reads on my shelves! Pepper Winters’ Ruin & Rule and Sin & Suffer are both about the Pure Corruption motorcycle club, involving vengeance, retribution and a strong romance. The Exhibitionist by Tara Sue Me (love that name!) is a BDSM story (part of the Submissive series) between Abby and Nathaniel. CJ Duggan’s Paradise Road (sequel to Paradise City) is about Lexie, looking for Luke but finds Dean instead. When Luke comes back, who will end up with a broken heart?

I was also lucky to win a prize from Read3r’z Re-vu to celebrate their anniversary. These three books arrived in record time, thank you!

Trudi Canavan’s The Magician’s Apprentice is a fantasy novel (prequel to a trilogy) set in Mandryn where Tessia wants to be a Healer. But when she uses magic to defend herself, she finds herself thrust into a new role just as her world is about to be turned upside down. Silas and the Winterbottoms by Stephen M. Giles is about the Winterbottom children who meet their reclusive uncle for the first time. Unfortunately, his world is a lot different to their own and the children compete to win his favour – or run the other way. The 100 Society by Carla Spradbery looks really intriguing. The Society is about tagging locations around the city – but each time, the graffiti tagging becomes more dangerous. Grace is determined to do it all, but somebody is watching her and her friends…

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:

Nothing at the moment…the book I want to listen to isn’t released until Thursday (I’m on the countdown).

Print:

Up Next:


11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 25/4/16

  1. Everyone is Forgiven and The War Bride are both apt for around Anzac Day. I liked both. Pamela Harts was easier to read. Chris Cleave is quite literary but worthwhile.

  2. Oh, delightful looking books! When I saw “Tara Sue Me,” I thought that was the title…now I am very curious!

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog. I’m pleased to finally know what ANZAC stands for!

  3. Happy ANZAC day! And The 100 Society sounds really interesting- it’s always nice when books arrive by mail. 🙂 Have a great day and enjoy your reading!

  4. I’ve seen the War Bride on other blogs… looks good! Everyone Brave is Forgiven looks good too. Nice wins! Good one on April’s Fools. Ha Ha. Enjoy your reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

