Make You Burn by Megan Crane

In brief: The first in the Deacons of Bourbon Street series, as Ajax returns to mourn the president, Priest. But things get a little sidetracked when he finds Priest’s daughter Sophie is all grown up and super hot.

The good: So scorching your eReader is at risk of short circuiting.

The not-so-good: Definitely not grandmother or your prudish work colleague safe.

Why I chose it: I’ve read the second book (Fire Me Up by Rachael Johns) and thought I needed to find out the whole story. Many thanks to Hachette for the eARC.

Year: 2015

Pages: 336

Publisher: Headline Eternal (Hachette)

Setting: New Orleans

My rating: 9 out of 10

Last year I read Rachael Johns’ novel in the Deacons of Bourbon Street series (Fire Me Up) because I’ll read pretty much anything she writes. I did really like it (and proclaimed it as something my mother wouldn’t like – but she did). When I was given the opportunity to read the other books in the series, I naturally jumped at it. Recently I was looking for something fun, light and a bit different so I picked up the first book in the series, Make You Burn. Like the heroine Sophie, I got more than I bargained for in a good way.

The cover proclaims this story is scorching hot and I’d have to agree. It’s dirty, raw and honest. This one is definitely not for your grandma or mum (although she may surprise you). It’s also a bloody good read with a depth that I wasn’t really expecting. As it’s the first in the series, it sets up the story of the members of the Deacons of Bourbon Street motorcycle club who had to disperse rapidly to the corners of the country after something went wrong. But now their leader is dead and the boys are coming home to for his funeral. Ajax has self-proclaimed himself as leader and he’s going to make sure everyone pays their respects. But first he’s going to follow this girl in hot pants down Bourbon Street…

That girl turns out to be Priest’s daughter Sophie, much more grown up than Ajax remembers. Almost instantly, a hot, fiery relationship is ignited between them. Is it wrong? Is it right? As Sophie and Ajax to and fro between sex and their emotions, the other members return. While Priest’s death isn’t sorted out in this book (I imagine we’ll need to wait until the last book), Sophie and Ajax’s relationship is. Ajax is an absolute stinker at the start – it’s all about him and nothing else. He’s such an alpha male that I should have bolded, underlined and capitalised alpha. But Crane shows us he does have a somewhat sensitive side, which is good because Sophie’s tough but delicate. She could do with someone to match her, not someone to break her. For all of Sophie’s wildness, she’s pretty naïve when it comes to her father’s business and the darker side of the Deacons. I really warmed to her – she doesn’t take rubbish from anyone, least of all Ajax.

I don’t really read motorcycle romances so I can’t compare this against other books in the same subgenre. I did learn quite a bit though in terms of terminology! Some more motorcycle descriptions would have been good for the petrol heads among us! The main focus is sex and the relationship between the two rather than the mystery. Megan Crane sure does know how to describe a steamy relationship though! It was an enjoyable read with some darkness amongst the fun. I will be continuing with the rest of the series.

One thought on “Make You Burn by Megan Crane

Add yours

  1. This sounds pretty good. I read Rachael John’s book, as you did and really enjoyed it. I’m sure your Mum would surprise you and enjoy it too.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

