Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 6/6/16

Happy Monday! It’s a holiday here today for W.A. (Western Australia) Day. I had to work on the weekend, so it’s nice to be able to sleep in on a Monday. We had some beautiful weather during the week, so everyone was out and about. I only read one book, but it was excellent! Can’t wait to tell you about it next month.

I was lucky to receive three books in the mail, all from the lovely people at Hachette – one prize and two books to read and review. I couldn’t resist taking the picture in the sunshine again!

Smoke by Dan Veleta looks really intriguing. The question on the cover is, “if sin were visible, what would the world be like?” (I suspect we’d need fog lights a lot!) It’s an alternate history that starts in a boarding school in England and follows two boys who are part of the elite. They are pure and being groomed to lead the world but on a trip to London, Thomas and Charlie start to question all they know…

The gorgeous bound proof of Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson was a delightful prize to come home to on Friday night. It’s about four childhood friends who try to protect of grove of carved trees that ends in disaster. 17 years after the event, Jay has a chance to put things right – but what will it cost and is it worth it?

I loved The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, so I know that I will enjoy Claire North’s new novel, The Sudden Appearance of Hope. Hope Arden is the girl the world forgets – no matter what she does, good or bad. It does make her life tricky in many ways, including ones you wouldn’t expect…

These all sound so delicious, I can’t wait to start one or all!

I also did a bit of shopping, here’s what I found:

I do enjoy the Shopaholic series (especially after I won a shopping spree thanks to Becky) so I couldn’t resist the latest in this series by Sophie Kinsella, Shopaholic to the Rescue. Becky is in Vegas on a road trip, but she needs to help out her friends and family. Of course, this is when her best plan ever strikes – can she save the day?

The plot of Sara Donati’s The Gilded Hour sounds intriguing – two women doctors in 1883 New York trying to treat those in need, juggling this with love and courage to defy the odds.

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

A secret eARC, which I loved! It will be released 1/8/16, but I’ll have my review mid/late July.

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Print:

Up Next:

A new release, but which one?

15 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 6/6/16

Add yours

  1. I hope you enjoy Jilted. The Sara Donati looks very good. Enjoy your public holiday. I hope you can read all day.

  2. I love all the Shopaholic books and Shopaholic to the Rescue was no exception. I feel like Becky really grows in this one, which I think was definitely time. Funny enough, I’m actually reading a Kinsella book right now! Happy reading!

  3. I have become a real fan of Rachael Johns writing. Your buying reminds me I have The Gilded Hour on my TBR, I bought it at the end of last year. I must read!!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

