Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 27/6/16

Winter is officially here now – I’m wearing socks and a jumper and the heater stayed on until mid-morning! Fortunately the sun is out (for now – I just looked out the window and saw a giant grey cloud). I’m going to need to do some baking to stay warm!

I purchased three books which arrived in the post recently. They are quite diverse:

Is it really too much to ask? (The World According to Clarkson Volume 5) by Jeremy Clarkson is the only book in the series I didn’t have. I love this series because of it’s humour and ability to take any topic with blunt sense/nonsense.

When to Rob a Bank by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner is also the only book I haven’t read in the Freakonomics series. I love their out-there take on economics (actually, it’s my preferred and only way to tackle economics) and this looks like a good book to dip in and out of. (The cover isn’t quite as blue, the fluorescence of the Clarkson cover was hard to compete with).

Wedding Bells for Nurse Connie by Jean Fullerton is the second book about Connie, friend of Nurse Millie. I loved the Nurse Millie books so I must get on to Connie’s story, set in post-WWII London and the dawning of the NHS.

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Print:

Up Next:

Something warming!

 

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 27/6/16

Add yours

  1. Such an eclectic mix! These are all new to me, but I see some that I find interesting enough to try. Today is one of those days when I beg for winter to come. It’s full on summer here at 99 degrees outside. The air conditioning unit is my best friend, today.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

