The Twisted Knot by J.M Peace

In brief: The second crime novel featuring Constable Sammi Willis has her digging under the surface to expose a much deeper crime.

The good: Very taut thriller.

The not-so-good: Sometimes I felt it was a little lacking in detail.

Why I chose it: Thank you to Pan Macmillan for the opportunity to read this book and join a blog tour.

Year: 2016

Pages: 303

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Setting: Rural Queensland, Australia

My rating: 8 out of 10

I haven’t been reading many crime novels lately, so the offer to read The Twisted Knot was too good an opportunity to pass up. J.M. Peace is actually a serving Australian police officer, so you know that she knows her stuff when it comes to crime and policing.

The Twisted Knot is the second book to feature Constable Sammi Willis. I haven’t read the previous book, A Time to Run, but I didn’t feel that hindered my enjoyment of the book. The story opens as Sammi is still recovering from the events of A Time to Run, sitting at a desk job. It then comes to her notice that some locals of Angel’s Crossing are threatening action against a paedophile. But then everything is tied up just that bit too neatly and Sammi wonders if there’s something deeper going on…can she find the proof she needs?

This is a great police procedural as Sammi investigates all angles of the crime, finding leads and coming up against brick walls. I liked how things happened in the police station – I felt as though I was getting a real insight into the day to day workings of it all. Tension is created by short, sharp chapters and sentences. There’s no filler here, the plot and sentiment of the novel is taut and will have you saying ‘one more chapter’ many times over! The small town and crime setting was different to the general fiction and romance I’m used to, but no less compelling. The only thing I would have liked is some more detail overall, but having just read a book that’s heavy on all the details, I may well be biased. I think more detail would have also detracted from the overall feel of the book. It just has a dark, moody sense of something going on beneath the surface that is perfectly captured by the storm brewing on the book’s cover.

This would be a great book to read on a wintry weekend as it’s the perfect excuse to stay snuggled up until you’ve finished it!

5 thoughts on “The Twisted Knot by J.M Peace

Add yours

  1. I’ve almost finished this book and have enjoyed it. Like you I keep telling myself ‘one more chapter’. It is hard to put down. The theme of the book is a little different and I enjoy the surprises within it.

  2. Very readable even though it concerns child abuse. The twist in the story towards the end was great. JM Peace’s experience as a police officer shows. She gives insight into the making of a pedophile and the language they use to groom a child. And her description of the police procedures, although not detailed, are interesting and make me realise how difficult it must be for police to correctly get a conviction
    Both books have been easy to read yet thought-provoking, showing readers the difficulties police face as well as their human side.
    Love the strong female character who is overcoming trauma.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

