Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 11/7/16

Well, Australia still doesn’t have an official Prime Minister after a week of counting! Maybe this week. Maybe Australia will also look at electronic voting in the future so things move a bit faster next time.

It’s been rather rainy and miserable this week, so what better way to spoil myself than with a few books from Dymocks and online. Here’s what I bought:

Naked Statistics by Charles Wheelan is a statistics book, but not as you know it. It combines the theory with useful examples that are actually relevant to daily life and it’s really funny! I’m enjoying brushing up on my knowledge.

Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler has been on my ‘want!’ list for ages and now it’s finally here. It’s set in New York City, following Tess’ life as a backwaiter at a restaurant through the highs, lows, food and friendship.

Three-Martini Lunch by Suzanne Rindell is also set in New York, but in 1958. It’s set in the publishing world, with each of the three characters having to make choices that will affect their lives.

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Print:

Up Next:

Absolutely no idea!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 11/7/16

Add yours

  1. I’m hoping to read “Sweetbitter” soon — I have it on hold at the library. I love that cover version of “Vinegar Girl.” I’m a sucker for florals!

    Hope you have nicer weather this week. I love curling up inside with a book on a rainy day, but it gets old fast. (Although in our part of Hawaii it doesn’t rain all that often, so I could totally go for a gloomy, wet day! Wanna swap?)

  2. I can’t get over how different (and beautiful) those covers are from where I live. I have Sweetbitter and have yet to crack the cover. My reading mojo is a little whacky right now. I’m really interested in what you think of Vinegar Girl. I’ve seen some pretty scathing reviews for that one.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

