Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 18/7/16

Last week was full of work and playing Pokemon Go (not at the same time!). Probably a good thing given what happened in the world over the last week, which is pretty awful. I’m hoping this week will be better for everyone, everywhere.

I didn’t get to the shops due to work, weather and the fact I’d left my wallet at home. But I was lucky enough to receive two books in the mail:

Dinner with Edward by Isabel Vincent was a win from Dymocks as part of their Booklovers card giveaways (I probably don’t need to state here that I’m at gold level!). It’s a memoir about an unexpected friendship – Edward is a new widower and Isabel thinks she’s doing a favour for Edward’s daughter. As they meet weekly for dinner, Isabel learns more than just good recipes but it reflect on her own life and rebuild it.

Anita Heiss’ Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms (out August) arrived from Simon & Schuster. I’m so excited about this because it’s about the Cowra breakout (a POW camp in rural New South Wales). I love Cowra, so it’s great to see a book about it. Hiroshi is a soldier who escapes to Erambie Station, where he is treated with compassion by the Aboriginal people there. He then falls in love with Mary, but how long can this be kept a secret in a time where both of them lack basic rights?

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Up Next:

Probably an August read, such as Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms.

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 18/7/16

Add yours

  1. All of your books are new to me. I am completely missing the whole Pokemon Go thing. Of course, I very seldom use my cellphone which is a pay-as-you-go Tracfone which might have something to do with it. Come see my reading week here. Happy reading!

  2. Ooo, Naked Statistics! I’m a sucker for good, “non-scary” books on things like statistics. And, yes, considering the world, I’ve resolved not to be grumpy about Pokémon Go. 😉 Enjoy!

  3. Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms looks inviting. I am going to try Vinegar Girl, I know it is in our local library because saw it on the new shelf.

  4. I’ve heard some pretty nice things about Dinner with Edward. I’ve heard some not so nice things about Vinegar Girl, which is disappointing because I love Anne Tyler’s writing. I still might give it a try.

  5. I’m becoming fascinated by the titles of books, eg Vinegar Girl, Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms. How could these ever be connected, I guess I will have to read the book and find out for myself. I do enjoy your blog, thanks.

  6. I had the pleasure of introducing Isabel Vincent at our looking book festival in Gaithersburg. Enjoy your books, and be careful playing that Pokemon Go. Too many reports of muggings, etc. here.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

