Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 15/8/16

Last Saturday was Australia’s National Bookshop Day, which meant I simply had to be patriotic and support local bookstores. I only managed to make it one, but I did have a binge on the latest releases. (I did realise that I’d bought all international authors when I got home – which just means I’ll have to have an Australian author book binge buying day soon).

I did get two great Aussie reads in the mail this week, check it out:

The Chaser’s Australia (Issue 4 of the Chaser Quarterly) is all you ever wanted to know about Australia. I absolutely adore The Chaser in all forms and spinoffs and this edition promises to be just as hilarious as Chas covered in stick-it notes on a skateboard rolling through a pile of coat hangers. With at least one entire page devoted to chicken salt and the statement of the year (yes, I’m calling it) about Fremantle, this is not to be read while drinking anything that has the potential to be snorted out your nose. Thanks Brendan!

I won a copy of Holly Throsby’s Goodwood (out October) from Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room – thank you. It’s about a small town – you know the type, where nothing is a secret. Then disaster strikes when two young people disappear over two weeks. This brings the town of Goodwood to its knees as secrets come to the fore.

And this is my haul from National Bookshop Day – all fresh, shiny, new releases:

The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee probably needs no introduction to many of you. It’s about an opera singer with a past which comes to light when she is offered a role that directly reflects it. Who betrayed her? And will the truth destroy where she is now?

I’m sure Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad is well known to everyone (thanks to Oprah – she always picks a great read). The story follows Cora and Caesar who decide to escape to the North of America from Georgia. It’s a perilous journey reflecting on history and asking how far we’ve come since the Civil War era.

I finally managed to track down a copy of Julian Fellowes’ Belgravia. Following the Trenchard family over 25 years from Brussels to Belgravia, it looks at the secrets in this world where the nouveau riche meets the aristocracy. Hopefully a cure for Downton Abbey withdrawals.

I fell in love with the cover of Acts of Love by Talulah Riley when it was released in the UK and I’m glad to see the Aussie cover is the same. It’s about Bernadette, a top journalist who can hide the truth very, very well. But she meets her match in Radley Blake – is he the one?

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Up Next:

Probably one of the above or another eBook.

7 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 15/8/16

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

