Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 22/8/16

I didn’t have much time for book shopping last week (and looking at my diary, not much time coming up in the next fortnight) so I was super happy to get book love in the mail this week! Every single one of these books looks fantastic and I’m desperate to get to them. (I may not have done much reading this weekend due to close following of the Romance Writers of Australia’s conference on Twitter – #RWAus16).

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne has had rave reviews from everyone I know who had read it. It’s a love-hate work relationship between Lucy and Joshua but there is no way Lucy is going to lose any of these games. Now it’s time for the biggest game but maybe it’s not hate, but something else… Thanks to Hachette Australia for the copy.

The Fence by Meredith Jaffe is about neighbours and the turf wars (or in this case, fence wars) that can arise. Gwen is up for war when new resident Frankie suggests a fence between their properties that would destroy Gwen’s perfect yard – there’s nothing neighbourly in this feud. Thanks to Pan Macmillan for the book, which is released on 30th August.

Thanks to Allen and Unwin for the following four books, all released this Wednesday. I adore Maggie Joel’s books, so I am thrilled to see she has a new book out. The Safest Place in London takes place during World War II as two mothers and their daughters shelter in a tube station. During wartime, everyone is looking to keep them and their loved ones safe, even at the expense of others.

People tease me for my love of Japanese fiction in translation, but who could resist the cover of The Nakano Thrift Shop by Hiromi Kawakami (translated by Allison Markin Powell)? Hitomi takes a job at Mr Nakano’s shop to find that not only does every piece have meaning, but that it’s home to many characters.

Finding Sanity: John Cade, Lithium and the Taming of Bipolar Disorder by Greg De Moore and Ann Westmore is how John Cade, recently returned POW and doctor worked on treatment for bipolar disorder in a disused kitchen. There, he discovered lithium – which is still commonly used today. I’m kind of ashamed that I didn’t know that lithium treatment was discovered by an Australian prior to this.

Jessica Whitman’s Wild One is a sexy, scandalous novel set in the high glamour world of polo. Kat Parker is a former Hollywood It Girl who meets Sebastian Del Campo, star polo player who doesn’t have his heart in the sport. Together, they decide that Seb’s grandmother’s story is perfect for a Hollywood screenplay. But will their connection make or break their careers? This book is part of the Polo Season series (introduced by Nacho Figueras).

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Up Next:

One of the above!

7 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 22/8/16

Add yours

  1. You had a great book week! The Hating Game is on my wish list. The Nakano Thrift Shop does have a fun cover! Hope you enjoy all your new books. I like your cover of Sweetbitter- how are you liking it so far?

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

