Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 5/9/16

Welcome to Spring! Half of the weekend was glorious; the other half was cool and cloudy. (Guess which one was Father’s Day). I had a rare weekend off and I spent most of it buying clothes, cooking and Pokémon hunting. A lot of the new September releases haven’t made their way west yet, so that might be next Saturday’s job.

I received three books in the mail, all with gorgeous covers:

Tasmina Perry’s latest book, The House on Sunset Lake arrived from Hachette. It’s set around Casa D’Or, a plantation house on a lake in Georgia. Jim and Jennifer meet there in 1995 and Jim’s initial reluctance to be there is overcome. Twenty years on, the house is neglected after mysterious events, but Jim is forced to go back there to restore it in a new life as a hotel. Once again he meets Jennifer, but is he able to put the ghosts of the past aside as new secrets come to light?

Beyond the Orchard by Anna Romer is due for release in November, but I was lucky to get a copy early from Simon & Schuster. (You can also catch my post on 26th October). When Lucy returns home find answers about her direction in life, her ill father asks her to go to the crumbling family guesthouse Bitterwood Estate. It’s not somewhere she wants to go, but her father needs something that is left there. In the midst of this, she finds out a long-forgotten secret…

Sarong Party Girls by Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan came from Social Book Co for review. I love books set in Singapore and this book is written in Singlish (which has the best slang ever). It’s easy to read, almost lyrical and quite biting so far as Jazzy and her crew decide they need to get married. Not to just anyone, but to expat Ang Mohs (aka Caucasians). She’s got a plan and this girl is going to get what she wants!

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Up Next:

So many to choose from!

11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 5/9/16

Add yours

  1. I am so excited to see Anna Romer’s new one in your book haul this week. I can’t wait to get my hands on it. It is my most anticpated read for 2016, love her writing! Enjoy!

    Amanda @ Mrs B’s Book Reviews

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

