Guest post: Jessica Whitman, author of Wild One and giveaway

Jessica Whitman is the author of new release Wild One (Allen & Unwin, RRP $29.99, now available), second in the Polo Season series. (The first book, High Season, has received rave reviews). It’s a fun and sexy story about following your passions and finding love. Today, I’m pleased to welcome Jessica to Sam Still Reading to talk about when she knew she wanted to be a writer. Thanks Jessica!

I KNEW I WANTED TO BE A WRITER WHEN…

By Jessica Whitman

I was an early and voracious reader when I was a child. The kind of kid who used to bump into telephone poles walking home from school because I couldn’t put my book down long enough to even make it from point A to point B. One day, I found myself staying with my grandmother, who lived in a tiny town and had a rather limited library in her home. This was, of course, pre-Kindle, pre-internet, pre-everything. I had read and re-read all her Reader’s Digests, and I was bored and desperate. So I decided to write my own story. Something I would like to read. Because I couldn’t stand the idea that I was out of words. And, being an adolescent girl, I chose to write a love story. It all started there…

Thanks Jessica! I’m very glad that you grew up pre-internet and Kindle, otherwise we may not have your books to keep us readers going! If you’re interested in learning more about Wild One, you can check it out via these retailers:

You can also connect with the publisher, Allen & Unwin via many forms of social media:

Twitter: @AllenAndUnwin

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/AllenandUnwinBooks/

WordPress:
www.thingsmadefromletters.com

Instagram: @allenandunwin

for book talk and book pics.

Giveaway Time!

Thanks to Allen & Unwin, I have two copies of Wild One to giveaway! Winners must live in Australia and provide a name and street address to receive their book. Just leave a comment on this post about the last book that had you so engrossed that you couldn’t put it down. Entries will close on 17th September at 11:59pm GMT +8. Winners will be notified by email and will have 48 hours to reply with their name and street address otherwise another winner will be drawn. Copies will be sent by the publisher. I am not responsible for lost books in the mail.

And finally, do drop by some of the other blog tour posts-

7 thoughts on “Guest post: Jessica Whitman, author of Wild One and giveaway

  1. I recently devoured The Secondhand Life by Pamela Crane, would have finished in one seating if it wasn’t for real life intervening! Such a gripping and unique in topic read that left me compelled to research further into organ memory.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

