Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 19/9/16

It’s spring, but the weather is rather crazy. It’s been so cold! It made for great reading weather though and I read nearly two books over the last week. (As my commute is now really short, I can’t fit books into that part of my day anymore). Naturally, to compensate for the (almost) two books finished, three more came into the household over the week.

The Taming of the Queen by Philippa Gregory was a prize thanks to Dymocks and Simon and Schuster. I’ve been a bit slack at keeping up with The Tudor Court series of late but I think this will reignite my love for this time period. (Actually, pretty much all I know about King Henry VIII and his wives is from Philippa Gregory!). This story is about Kateryn Parr, his fifth wife. She’s scared at first, but grows to trust Henry. But this could be her ultimate mistake…

I had to buy I Love Dick by Chris Klaus because of the cheeky title, bright green cover and the reviews of it as a feminist novel. It blends fiction, essay and memoir as Chris falls in love with Dick and writes to him. But he never writes back. But she continues to write…

The Lonely Hearts Travel Club is back with Destination: India by Katy Colins. We thought Georgia had her life (and travel) sorted at the end of her first trip, but running a business is not what it seems. A work trip to India seems just the ticket to find herself but India plans to guide her course…

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 19/9/16

Add yours

  1. Isn’t that always the way? Read one, get two. I have no hope of ever catching up on my TBR mountain. Come see my past week here. Happy reading!

  2. I thought Rachael Johns did a great job with her new book, loved it. I liked Leave Me too, but liked Rachael’s book more. Yeah Spring is a little cold here too. However I think that’s how it goes.

  3. I see we agree on how fantastic The Art of Keeping Secrets is by Rachael Johns, I rated it five out of five stars. Just love her :-)! I hope you get into The Taming of the Queen, that was a great prize win. I am long standing Philippa Gregory fan. Enjoy the rest of you week and your books 🙂
    Amanda @ Mrs B’s Book Reviews

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

