Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 26/9/16

Yay, it’s a public holiday here today! A good thing, because I’ve been too busy to write my post on Sunday like I usually do. I went to the Perth Royal Show, which was fun. I ate a lot, but didn’t buy any show bags. I also had a good time checking out the exhibits (which involved a bit more food). One of my birds was also sick, but he’s hopefully on the mend now. He had us worried!

I didn’t do any shopping this week, so I’m thankful for the books that arrived in the mail over the past week.

The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church was a prize from Harper Collins. The birds on the cover mean this book was made for me! The main character, Meridian studied ornithology in the 1940s and fell in love with a physics professor. When he is recruited to Los Alamos, her plans fall awry as she becomes a wife rather than a scientist. But over the years, she struggles to become free, even though it will make enemies…

Something in Between by Melissa De La Cruz was a prize from Harlequin Australia and Goodreads. I was struck by the map of Australia on the cover. It’s a YA novel about Jasmine, who does her Filipino immigrant parents proud and is on her way to receiving a full college scholarship. But then it’s revealed that her parents arrived in the country illegally and that the whole family could be deported.

I also received a final copy of Goodwood by Holly Throsby from Allen & Unwin. I can’t wait to read this small town story where two people disappear suddenly. Secrets rise to the surface as the town speculates as to what has happened.

Thank you all!

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

I think I will be guided by my mood…

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 26/9/16

Add yours

  1. I was given an ARC of Goodwood to read. I hope you enjoy your copy. The new Melissa De La Cruz one looks like a great ‘Aussie’ read. I can’t wait to get into The Fence. I was lucky to win a copy over at the blog Carpe Librum.
    Enjoy your week and happy reading!
    Amanda @ Mrs B’s Book Reviews

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

