Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 3/10/16

It’s still not spring here yet! It’s cold, windy and rainy, which makes for great reading weather. Except I’ve been pretty busy and reading has been slow!

I received two books over the past week, one from the kind people at Hachette and one from my mum.

Graeme Simsion needs no introduction to most readers! His latest book, The Best of Adam Sharp, is about lost love Angelina who suddenly gets in contact with him. Adam has always felt something was missing in his life – could it be Angelina? But what does she want and will he dare to try for a second chance? Thanks Mum!

Darktown by Thomas Mullen is set in Atlanta in 1948. As you can imagine, there’s a divide in the city – black versus white. On one side of the railway is what’s known as Darktown, which is guarded by eight policeman, the first black police force in the city. Except these men are kept nearly powerless by the authorities. A murder of a poor black woman results in only two officers being concerned – Boggs and Smith. To find out the truth, they will risk their jobs, trust and potentially their own lives. It also agitates some of the old school – but they may find allies in unlikely places… I’ll have the first chapter of this book up on Thursday if you’re interested!

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

I can’t think that far ahead today!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 3/10/16

Add yours

  1. We definitely have a Spring feel although there is a heap of rain around. And it looks like we could be going to get cooler nights for awhile. Interested to hear Graeme Simsion has another book out, first time I have come across it.

  2. You do not shy away from real life plots. Kudos to you. I will take your rain. We are having isolated showers today in the Bay Area; it’s so weird especially for us East Bay residents who have been hit with 70’s up to 100 for months.

  3. It is lovely to see Graeme Simsion’s new book on your shelves. I got to see him at South Perth last week and had a ball. I ended up reading the book not long after the event, I couldn’t resist and it was brilliant. I hope to have a review up soon. So I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
    I have seen Dark Town around – the era sounds interesting.
    I am going to read your thoughts on The Fence as a won a copy a couple of weeks ago and I am itching to get into it!
    Have a great week!
    Amanda @ Mrs B’s Book Reviews

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

