Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 31/10/16

Wow, today the end of October. Where did the time go? I don’t celebrate Halloween (except for on Pokémon Go) but if you’re going out tonight, stay safe and have fun.

I received two books in the mail last week, many thanks to Penguin and Hachette for the goodies:

The Drifter is by Anthea Hodgson, a local W.A. author. The said drifter is Cate, but after a tragedy to flees to Western Australia’s wheatbelt. There she meets Henry, a swagman. Cate and Henry need to work together to help Cate’s great aunt Ida and by doing this, they can move forward.

The Blood Mirror by Brent Weeks is the final book in the Lightbringer series. Now the Seven Satrapies are four and Gavin Guile is imprisoned. What’s worse is that he created this magical prison – but he has no magic left. Who will fight for the empire now? I must also add that this book is so comprehensive, with maps, character lists, a glossary and an appendix.

The other week, I decided I needed more non-fiction books in my life. Those orders have started to arrive, so here’s what I’ve received over the last week:

Naked Economics by Charles Wheelan – I decided that if he can make statistics funny, I should try his economics book. I need to get back into economics as my knowledge is a bit rusty and I’m sure his hilarious examples will help.

I saw Bird Brain: An Exploration of Avian Intelligence by Dr Nathan Emery in Nature’s book reviews section (this is probably my most read section in the journal!). It’s a gorgeous hardcover talking all things bird (with pictures) on bird tools, communication and deception.

Jonathan Eig’s The Birth of the Pill explores how the oral contraceptive pill was invented and its supporters and opponents.

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:



Up Next:

Um…spoiled for choice here…

9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 31/10/16

Add yours

  1. Swagman is a new term to me – I guess that’s the drifter of the story. Looks like a good one! All of your non-fiction books also sound fascinating, especially Bird Brain. Enjoy and have a great week!

  2. I purchased a copy of The Drifter a few weeks ago. I just couldn’t resist it being a rural from a West Aussie. I haven’t got around to reading it yet but hope to soon. I’m keen to hear your thoughts 🙂 Enjoy and I hope your week is going nicely so far.
    Amanda @ Mrs B’s Book Reviews

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

