Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 28/11/16

I think holidays can be more tiring sometimes than working! I’ve been really busy over the past week, doing all the little things that needed doing and some that didn’t (like Pokémon Go – I still don’t have a Ditto!). I didn’t do too much reading or baking, but hoping to squish in something Sunday afternoon. I attended my local Dymocks’ VIP Day – check out my Instagram for a sneak peek of what I bought (more soon). Here’s what arrived in the letterbox this week:

The Sellout by Paul Beatty was a nice surprise from Bloomsbury. I’m sure this book needs no introduction, having won the Man Booker Prize this year. It’s a comic, satirical look at a town in California where the narrator decides to put it back on the map by reinstating slavery and segregating the local high school.

The Crossroads by Pamela Cook is set in northern Queensland, as three women struggle with their problems – a distant husband, the shock of an adoption and a fight to save the local pub. How will they support each other? (I’ve already finished this – it’s delightful).

All I Ever Wanted by Lucy Dillon deals with life after the breakdown of a marriage. Caitlin’s daughter Nancy has stopped talking after her marriage falls apart. Eva is recently widowed and asking questions about the future. When Eva agrees to look after Caitlin’s children regularly, neither of them thought that they would need to face the questions of what they really want and the truth of their marriages. Many thanks to Hachette for both these books.

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:



Up Next:

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 28/11/16

Add yours

  1. The Sellout sounds like one of those books that I should read, but I think I’ll wait a while for the buzz to die down before giving it a try – though like Melinda I probably won’t be able to get my hands on a copy for a long time yet anyway!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

