Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 12/12/16

Festive frenzy has set in fully – the shops are busy and the drinks/dinner parties are in full swing. I don’t think I’ve had so many late nights in the last week since…um, last month! I didn’t get too much reading done but I’m hoping to catch up this week.

I received three surprise books in the mail, plus here’s some of my recent Dymocks haul (because the full one would probably break the internet!)

Pond by Claire-Louise Bennett (released 22nd December) was from Pan Macmillan – thank you. It can be described as a novella or interlinked short stories of a woman living in rural Ireland. It offers insights into domestic life initially and then the narrator segues into deeper meaning. It looks bold and different.

In the Name of the Family by Sarah Dunant (28th Feb 2017) is set in Renaissance Italy, 1502. It follows the Borgia family and introduces the man who shadows Cesare, Niccolo Machiavelli. I don’t know too much about the Renaissance, but I love learning my history through stories, so I’m looking forward to this.

Keep Me Safe by Daniela Sacerdoti (April 2017) promises to be intriguing. After the disappearance of her father, Ava starts asking her mother Anna about her other mother and an island called Seal. Anna decides the only wat to find out more is to go to Seal, and find out what’s in store… Many thanks to Hachette for both these books.

Nicotine by Nell Zink not only has the coolest cover, but the gentleman at Dymocks was very happy when I bought this (he loves Nell Zink)! It’s about Penny, whose father dies and she is left with one of the family house to renovate for sale. But she finds it to be full of squatters promoting smokers’ rights and gets involved with them. It’s unusual and very addictive so far.

The Nix by Nathan Hill is a book I’ve had my eye on for ages. Samuel hasn’t seem his mum since he was a child – not until she appears on the news as a politically motivated criminal. But the media’s portrayal doesn’t match Samuel’s memories and he sets out to discover the true history.

If you want to check other bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:



Up Next:

I think I’ll get stuck into some 2017 reads.

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 12/12/16

Add yours

  1. Nicotine is an unusual title for a book, but after reading your ‘blurb’ I can see why it is called that. Pond sounds as though it could be interesting.

  2. I’ll be curious how you feel about Nicotine when you get done with it. I didn’t like it as much as I had expected to. Lots of other great books in your mailbox!

  3. Yes I will soon be into my 2017 reads although I want to finish off a couple of challenges first and then I’ll be onto them. This time of the year can be a frenzy of events – enjoy!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

