Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 2/1/17

Happy New Year! I hope everyone got a break and some time to have fun. As promised, here is the first of my Christmas haul, tentatively titled ‘The Ones That Kept Popping Up in My Social Media’.

As you can see from the above, I am Lego building again. The haulpak is just part 1 of 8 of my next build!

Bridget Jones’s Baby by Helen Fielding should need no introduction, given that it’s; a) Bridget Jones and b) there was a movie of the same title in 2016. I’ve read this and loved it – but fans of the movie take note, the potential dads involve Daniel Cleaver!

The Girls by Emma Cline has a cover that screams summer! In 1969 California, Evie wants to be part of the girls. But at the centre is Russell, who could be more than just one of the gang…

I also received one book from the lovely people at Penguin, Fiona McArthur’s Heart of the Sky (released 30/1/17). It’s about Flying Doctor Tess Daley and pilot Charlie Fennes in the small rural town of Mica Ridge. But Tess is seeking a change after a past accident and Charlie has a secret that will rock the station house where they live.

Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue is set in New York City 2007. Clark is a partner at Lehman Brothers and Jende, recently arrived from Cameroon, is his new driver. His wife Neni gets work with Clark’s wife Cindy and everything looks like it could be happening. But secrets and the financial crisis mean that both couples need to rethink their dreams.

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett is another book with a gorgeous cover about family. It starts in 1964 when Bert kisses Beverly at a christening party for Franny – but he’s not her husband. 24 years on, Franny meets a famous author while working and starts to tell him her family’s story…

If you want to look at other books received, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:



Up Next:

11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 2/1/17

Add yours

  1. Happy New Year and I hope you manage to read lots of books.
    I do like the selection you have above. Hopefully I will manage to read a couple of them.

  2. Happy New Year. I would like Legos too if I only had more time. Looks like a good Christmas haul. I am especially interested in Heart of the Sky. Happy Reading!

  3. A new Fiona McArthur – I’m so happy to see it on your list this week. I’m looking forward to its release.

    I purchased True Colours last week, Kristin Hannah is an auto buy for me – enjoy!

    I also have Commonweath on my TBR shelf, I have heard so many great things about it – happy reading and happy new year to you!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

