Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 16/1/17

Everything seems to be back almost in full swing after the holiday break – traffic is heavy, car parks are scarce and work is piling up! I didn’t receive any books in the mail, nor buy any (the shelves are still pretty bare). Luckily, here are the last books of my Christmas haul. (Birthday books are still to come).

Roman Crazy by Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci is a fun romance about Avery, wounded from the end of her marriage, spending the summer in Rome. But Rome is also home to Marcello, the man who got away. Gelato by day, Marcello by night – is it a summer fling or the start of a new life?

Daughter of the Murray by Darry Fraser is historical fiction, set on the beautiful Murray River. Georgina’s not happy with life with her foster family in the 1890s, especially when prodigal son Dane returns. She flees on his prized stallion, crossing paths with Conor Foley, a businessman with a proposition for Georgina. Where does her heart lie and how will things turn out in the changing political landscape?

Outback Emergency contains three stories (The Doctor’s Rescue Mission by Marion Lennox, Pregnant on Arrival by Fiona Lowe and A Baby for the Flying Doctor by Lucy Clark), all medical romances set in the Australian outback. There’s a tidal wave, flying doctors and love in the air!

The Doctor by Dr Karl Kruszelnicki is non-fiction, where Dr Karl discusses quirky, interesting science in fun chunks. Why do people talk louder when they’re drunk? Why don’t you sleep well in an unfamiliar bed? Why does streaming videos use more power than your fridge? Is caffeine now a good drug? I love Dr Karl and I love that I can always find out more through his detailed references.

If you want to look at other books received, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:


15 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 16/1/17

Add yours

  1. Lovely books this week. I was lucky to score myself a loan copy of Darry Fraser’s Daughter of the Murray from a friend, I can’t wait to get into it!
    I purchased To the Sea last week and will be reading The Liberation next.
    Happy reading and have a lovely week 🙂

  2. I used to read outback romance so much when younger and throw in something like a flying doctor and I was in heaven! Hope your book is good. I like Jodi Thomas’ series books, her stand alones not so much. She builds up her characters over a series and I just love them.

  3. I can hardly ever go a week without adding something to the TBR mountain which explains why it is over 1000 books high. Getting in down to a more manageable size is always a goal that I am failing to accomplish. You can see my week here. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

