Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 23/1/17

So this week I celebrated summer by getting a shocker of a cold…but it did mean that I could huddle under blankets and read. Lucky that this week I have to share with you my birthday books as well as some that the postie kindly brought to the door. The top row are arrivals via the letterbox and the second row books I bought with my birthday vouchers.

I’m really excited about Pamela Hart’s A Letter From Italy as she’s one of my favourite writers for relatable Australian historical fiction. This book is inspired by the true story of Louise Mack, Australia’s first female war correspondent during World War I. Rebecca has followed her husband to the battlefields in Europe as a war correspondent in Italy. She’s working with Alessandro Panucci, and soon she has a battlefield of her own – the human heart. The book is released on March 14, thanks to Hachette for the ARC.

I read an article about Penelope Janu recently and immediately added her romantic comedy debut, In at the Deep End to my wish list. The book has it all – a female explorer in Harriet, whose ship sinks in Antarctica. Unfortunately, she’s rescued by Commander Per Amundsen, real life action hero and part of the Norwegian navy. It’s not love, nor like at first sight but the pair have to cooperate and face their fears in order to get what they want. Many thanks to Harlequin for reading my mind and sending the ARC! The book will be out in February.

I’ve never read Lucy Diamond, so when I was offered the chance to read and review her latest book, The House of New Beginnings, I thought I should seize the opportunity (thanks Pan Macmillan!). Out at the end of the month, the story revolves around the occupants of 11 Dukes Square, Brighton. Rosa has fled from London to a menial job, but will others challenge her to spread her wings? Georgie has a new career after following her childhood sweetheart to town, but it doesn’t take long for her to get into trouble. Charlotte is plodding along after a loss, but Margot is determined for her to return to the outside world. They say new house, new beginnings and it’s certainly true for these ladies.

I decided to give Nell Zink another go after the intriguing strangeness that was Nicotine. The Wallcreeper comes highly recommended, a novella of the highs and lows of marriage (with some birds involved it seems).

Food Whore by Jessica Tom sounded intriguing, not least because Jessica is a food blogger and writer herself. It’s the story of Tia, who ghost-writes restaurant reviews for a legendary food critic. But he gets the glory and she gets the food – is this what she truly wants?

Modern Lovers by Emma Straub has been on my wish list for some time, so I decided a birthday is a good time to indulge. It’s about three college friends, now grown up and living in the same neighbourhood. But now their children are teenagers and with all those troubles, their adult lives seem to unravel as the truth comes out.

If you want to look at other books received, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:


9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 23/1/17

Add yours

  1. Ah yes I loved True Colors too. I just requested the Pamela Hart book from Hachette NZ just this afternoon when they sent their review list. I really liked her last one, she does a good job and this one sounds really interesting.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

