Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 27/2/17

Wow, last week was busy! I’m still not too sure what went on – I always seemed to be working at something furiously! Hopefully, things will quieten down later this week. I didn’t get out to buy any new books (plus, the weather was awful) so I’m grateful for the two new ones I received in the mail. I’m looking forward to getting out this weekend – especially because it’s a long one!

House of Names by Colm Toibin was a wonderful surprise from Pan Macmillan (I love his books!). It’s out in May and is a retelling of the story of Clytemnestra (which I have to confess I’m not too familiar with). I’ll read anything he writes, so I’m looking forward to it.

Stars Across the Ocean by Kimberley Freeman was another great surprise from Hachette. Also out in May, it’s historical fiction about Agnes, a foundling. Agnes discovers a token from her mother on leaving the foundling home, which takes her on a quest to find her.

If you want to look at other books received, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:


11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 27/2/17

Add yours

  1. I must admit I haven’t heard of the authors of either of your books. I will look forward to your reviews. I’m all excited and happy as I won a book from Rachael Johns and I’ve just finished it. I love her books and this one about the McKinnel family is no different.

  2. So nice to get surprises in the mail – especially if the weather has you stuck inside. I am not familiar with the books but Across the Ocean sounds interesting. Happy Reading!

  3. I’m the same way – I feel like I’m always busy but I can’t tell you what I’ve done. I loved Brooklyn and never thought to check out Toibin’s other books. Enjoy your new books!

  4. I’ll be interested to hear what you thought of Behold the Dreamers. Hope you find more time for reading this week.

  5. I’m so excited to see a new one by Kimberley Freeman, she hasn’t released a novel for some time, I just adore her work, so enjoy!
    I also received a copy of Holly Ford’s The Last McAdam yesterday, it looks good, a NZ style rural fiction novel, which is a little different 🙂
    Have a lovely week and happy reading!
    Amanda @ Mrs B’s Book Reviews

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

