Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 13/3/17

It’s been an eventful week all round with everything just taking that little bit longer. I’m not sure if it’s because uni has started again or that meeting season is in full swing. Anyway, let’s not analyse but talk books. It was a big week with the release of the Stella Prize shortlist and the Bailey’s Prize longlist so I have plenty of great reading to do!

Finding Hannah by Fiona McCallum (released April) was a lovely surprise from Harlequin. I always enjoy her books. Hannah seemingly has the perfect life, but on Christmas tragedy strikes, bringing her world into disarray. What will Hannah do in the lead up to the next festive season – stay or go?

All Fall Down by Cassandra Austin was a prize from Dymocks. It’s described as Australian Gothic as a small town is cut off from the rest of the world. The townspeople only have each other and secrets come to the fore and rivalries rise again.

I bought a copy of Linda Grant’s The Dark Circle to kick start my Bailey’s Prize longlist reading. It begins in 1949, at the dawn of England’s National Health Service. (I love dawn of the NHS books. Yes, I know that’s odd). Lenny and Miriam enter a sanatorium for tuberculosis and are pretty much trapped with the other occupants. But by inciting rebellion, can they try to gain freedom?

Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo (released 29th March, RRP $27.99) was a surprise from Allen & Unwin, right after the Bailey’s Prize announcement! Yejide wants a baby and so does the rest of her family. That is until her relatives want a new wife instead! Yejide finds it too much, and with the announcement rises jealousy, betrayal and despair.

Momo Freaks Out by Samone Bos was from Echo Publishing and Bookstr. It’s a memoir of Momo’s weblog (remember when they were called that?) pre Facebook. She covers her childhood and daily life, then on to life in Tokyo as an English teacher. It looks so much fun!

If you want to look at other books received, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:


13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 13/3/17

Add yours

  1. I like what you’ve done on your blog! I keep changing mine around, and when I’m satisfied, I leave them alone for a little bit. Not long, though. lol.

    I am reading and loving The Mother’s Promise.

    Enjoy your week…and thanks for sharing.

  2. I love the sound of The Dark Circle and also All Fall Down. You have had a nice few books this week. Happy reading.

  3. I just adore Fiona mcCallum, so good to see her new book is on its way!

    Well done for scoring a copy of All Fall Down, I have it on my TBR shelf too.

    Enjoy The Mother’s Promise, I couldn’t resist buying myself a copy last week!

    I’ll look out for your review of Pamela Hart’s latest, I just love her work.

    Hope you manage to squeeze in some reading in between meetings!

    Amanda @ Mrs B’s Book Reviews.

  4. Hearing great things about The Mother’s Promise. Not sure if I have read Fiona McCullum, there are a few Fionas! One I didn’t like but don’t think its her books.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

