Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 27/3/17

It’s the end of March, which means footy (Australian Rules football) is back! It’s always an exciting time with the good-natured rivalry between fans of different clubs and showing your team colours. There have already been some unexpected wins. So that’s my weekends sorted until the end of September.

This week I had an opportunity to stop by an old favourite bookshop, Dymocks Hay St. I was already carrying an armload of papers so I limited myself to just two books. I also received two in the mail – thank you Pan Macmillan and Bloomsbury.

The Walworth Beauty by Michele Roberts
(May 2017, Bloomsbury) wooed me with its historical narrative entwined with modern day. Back in 1851, Joseph is assisting with research on the working classes but is tempted by what he finds. In 2011, Madeleine has lost her job but finds the past encroaching on life in Apricot Place.

The Rome Affair by Karen Swan
(26th April, Pan Macmillan) is another dual narrative between 1974 and 2017. Elena Damaini has lived a gilded life, but there is one thing she can’t have. In 2017, Franecsca has left London for Rome and la dolce vita. Finding a lost handbag puts her in Elena’s path and a joint project. But will it reveal Elena’s secrets?

The next two books I bought myself. The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood sounded slightly creepy but really relevant. When Charmaine sees a job at Positron, she and her husband Stan apply at once. Who wouldn’t want a job and a house when yours is dodgy and you live in a car? But Positron only allows you in, not out…

The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill is one of the Bailey’s Prize longlist. I really liked The Girl Who Was Saturday Night (and the cover if I’m honest). It’s about two orphans, Pierrot and Rose, who create their own world in one of misery. But when they meet years later, the Depression has wearied them, but not enough to try to fulfil their vision for the stage…

If you want to look at other books received, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:


7 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 27/3/17

Add yours

  1. I have mixed feelings about Margaret Atwood’s books…but I usually end up enjoying most of them. Hag-Seed has a creepy cover, but I’m curious about it.

    Enjoy your reading…and thanks for sharing.

  2. I’m adding Stay with Me to my wishlist.

    Favorite bookshops are wonderful things. My favorite is currently closed. The owners retired and their long time employee is now opening her own store across the street. But for the moment our town is without our beloved bookshop!

    It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

  3. How awful having to limit your purchases because you were carrying so much else. The good thing is that you were able to find 2 books you wished to buy. I love the books you also received. Enjoy your week.

  4. End of March means the beginning of the baseball season to me. I plan to watch my favorite team on my computer a lot. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

