Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 10/4/17

Good morning! (Sorry, didn’t mean to sound so chirpy for a Monday – actually not sure why I am given I’m in the middle of the longest week I’ve worked for years). Hi to those of you who have arrived from the Books + Publishing article and welcome! It made last week really fun. This is the part of my blog where I share the books that have recently come into my home via the letterbox, shopping bag or other means and mention what I’m reading.

This week I received two books in the mail and bought one:

The Missing Pieces of Us by Fleur McDonald was a prize from the NSW Writers’ Centre – thank you! I love the cover of this novel about three women- Lauren, a teacher concerned about a boy in her class; her daughter Skye who needs help of her own and Tamara, a store manager willing to help Skye but unable to believe in herself. All the women want the best for the future, but to do that they need to solve issues of the past…

Girl in Between by Anna Daniels (26th April, RRP $29.99) arrived from Allen & Unwin. I’ve been hanging out to read this book because it sounds funny and realistic so thank you! The main character is Lucy, who is at a crossroads in her life – if you call living with your parents, being mum to a dog and in between careers, relationships and cities that. While she’s trying to work out what to do with her life, best friend Rosie is providing the entertainment. Could the boy next door be the answer to Lucy’s next chapter in life?

I bought a copy of The Turner House by Angela Flournoy because it’s set in Detroit, a city I have a fascination about because of Motor City, urbex and Motown. It’s set in modern day Detroit as the city is crumbling and the Turner family realises that the home of matriarch Viola is worth one tenth of the mortgage. It’s up to the Turner family to come home and decide what to do, but in doing so they need to face their past secrets.

If you want to look at other books received this week, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:



Up Next:

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 10/4/17

Add yours

  1. I must get hold of The Missing Pieces and read it. I love the cover so much. I enjoyed reading the Books+Publishing article. It’s good to have an insight into bloggers you follow. Happy reading.

  2. Wow… you’ve received great looking books this week. The Missing Pieces of Us is calling my name. 😉 I’m gonna check it out.
    Thanks for sharing, Sam. Have a great week. Happy reading. 😀

  3. I love to win a book! Hope you enjoyed Natasha Lester’s book – I sure did. In answer to you about Kate Morton it was a 4 star read so for sure I will read more of hers, in fact I have 2 or 3 of them on my actual TBR shelves.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

