Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 24/4/17

Why did last week seem so long even though it was a short week? Fortunately, this week is even shorter for me so I want to catch up on sleeping, reading and shopping! It feels weird not to have been to any bookshops this month. Luckily for me, the postie delivered several great books this week:

Beyond the Wild River by Sarah Maine (released 26th April) was a Friday surprise from Hachette. It’s historical fiction, moving from Scotland to Canada in the 1890s. There’s been a shooting, a division between father and daughter and an old friend that reappears in Evelyn’s life in Canada. What exactly happened back in Scotland and how was her father involved?

Those Pleasant Girls by Lia Weston (released 26th April) arrived from Pan Macmillan for a blog tour (my review is for 1st May). The novel sees the return of Evie Pleasant in Sweet Meadow with her teenage daughter. This time she’s going to be good – or try to be. Will the people of Sweet Meadow let bygones be bygones?

Against All Odds by Danielle Steel (released 26th April) was a surprise from Pan Macmillan. I haven’t read one of her novels for ages (I remember my mum and grandmother reading them on holiday). It’s about Kate, a successful vintage clothes shop owner and her grown up children Isabelle, Julie, Justin and Willie. All are playing against the odds in their lives, but she can’t stop them…

I’m really looking forward to Greatest Hits by Laura Barnett (she wrote The Versions of Us), out June. It about singer-songwriter Cass, who is preparing a greatest hits album. Over one day, each song will set off memories of her life. Plus, there will be an accompanying album!

The Shark Club by Ann Kidd Taylor (out June) follows Maeve as she returns to the island where she grew up. Memories abound of first love Daniel and her attack by a shark. Can she forgive Daniel or is her handsome colleague Nicholas the man for her? Thanks Hachette for these two books.

If you want to look at other books received this week, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:



Up Next:

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 24/4/17

Add yours

  1. I remember my Mum reading Danielle Steel too. I remember reading one at this time and it was far from ‘happy ever after’ at the end. I don’t know if they are all like that.

  2. Nice looking assortment of books. I don’t think I’ve ever read a Danielle Steele book. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  3. Our local book shop is in the process of changing owners. The old location is now shuttered and the new owner is busy getting the new location ready. That has severely curtailed my book buying. .

    It was a busy week of reading, Girl Scouts, the Mandarin Showcase, and boxing up books. Come see what I’m reading.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

