Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 1/5/17

Wow, it’s May! I think that might just mean that Autumn is coming to an end with the warm days and cool nights. It’s been so lovely and sunny outside, perhaps this means I should get some more Pokemon hunting done while I can!

I had a couple of days off this week, which was lovely. I spent a bit too much on clothes, but at least I have a dress for nearly every occasion! I did eat a bit too with some lovely lunches. I got some more reading done, which was great and indulged in my AFOL pastime of building Technic Lego (this time it’s a tractor).

But you’re here for the books, so here’s what came in the mail this week:

The lovely cover is a proof of The Song of Us by J.D. Barrett which was a prize from Hachette and Goodreads. Zoe is a concert harpist who returned home from London. Now her audience is dwindling, and love is complicating everything for her and her family. Can Zoe write a new tune for her life?

I bought the following three books at Dymocks, to celebrate having a day off (well, that’s my excuse anyway):

I’ve really been looking forward to The Idiot by Elif Batuman. It’s about Selin, newly arrived at Harvard and somewhat overwhelmed. She makes two new friends, including Ivan, which culminates in Selin teaching English in a Hungarian village one summer. But through it all, Selin reflects on language and culture and how it defines us.

The Patriots by Sana Krasikov
is the story of Florence who left America for Russia in the 1930s. But when she wants America again, it’s more complicated and her son must work out her journey to understand himself and his own son.

The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak had been on my mind since I saw it in store last month. It’s set in the 1980s as a group of computer nerd teenagers seek out a copy of Playboy magazine but get into all sorts of trouble, including a mysterious floppy disk.

If you want to look at other books received this week, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:




What I’m Reading at the Moment:



Up Next:

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 1/5/17

Add yours

  1. Here were inching towards summer. I’m going to miss all the rain we’ve had. Saturday was my the junior to cadette bridging ceremony in San Francisco. My daughter and I are sore and sunburnt from our adventure but we had fun. Come see what I’m reading.

  2. I have The Idiot in my reading stack and finished The Impossible Fortress last week – I thought it was really well done and funny in parts.

  3. Hope you had a nice few days off, retail therapy sounds perfect.

    I purchased a copy of Those Pleasant Girls after reading your review – thanks!

    I’m keen to try JD Barrett’s new book but I must read her previous one first!

    I must get myself a copy of Rachael Johns new one she is always an auto buy for me.

    Wishing you a lovely week 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

