Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 22/5/17

I had to double check that Monday really was the 22nd – where did that time go? It seems like winter is now on its way, with rain and cold wind which makes for excellent reading weather. Hopefully I’ll get more reading done this week, as last week was pretty social. Then there was the added baking addiction and need to write an assignment…today I’ll get something done just after I’ve made a tart, biscuits and fruit loaf!

So you can probably guess that the weekend was devoted to food shopping instead of book shopping! Here’s what I received in the post over the last week (not the Flip Flap, he’s just cute):

Familiar Things by Hwang Sok-Yong (translated from the Korean by Sora Kim-Russell) was a prize from Scribe and Goodreads. It’s set on the edge of Seoul in a landfill site called Flower Island. Bugeye and his mother arrive there after his father is moved to a ‘re-education’ camp. Life is hard but then the spirits of the island reveal themselves to Bugeye, changing his luck. But is it forever?

Closing Down by Sally Abbott was the winner of The Richell Prize in 2015. This is ‘cli-fi’ (climate fiction) set in a future Australia that is owned by others to the demise of rural towns. In one town, three people try to hold on to themselves as the world breaks. But what does the future hold? Many thanks to Hachette for sending me a copy.

The Lucky One by Caroline Overington was a lovely surprise from Harper Collins. I was intrigued the moment I saw the word ‘castle’! Set in California, Alden Castle is a grand house hiding a few more skeletons than expected. What is the family hiding and who will be the lucky one?

I squealed when I opened the next package. David Sedaris’ Theft by Finding (out June)! This is the first volume of David’s diaries, which I’ve loved to hear him read live. I’ve already snuck a peek of a few random pages and it’s witty, funny and totally David Sedaris. It’s also huge (514 pages)! Thanks Hachette for the copy.

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:


15 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 22/5/17

Add yours

  1. So, you are really making me hungry….
    I received Familiar Things also, don’t you just love the physicality/textural elements Scribe uses for their titles. And the other 3 new arrivals, I’d gladly read all of them – lucky you!

  2. Nice to see a post from the Southern Hemisphere! I’ve been seeing Summer Reads everywhere which feels a bit odd when my feet are so cold!

  3. I’m having a concentration problem: every time I sit down to read I think of 5 other things I need to do instead. It might be the books I trying or it might be the stress of the end of the school year and moving plans. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  4. You have a great book haul and some good looking books in the reading line up. Yes nice to have the winter. That baking sounds absolutely yummy.

  5. Yes, the time has flown. (I got a sunburned neck the past two days and summer isn’t quite here yet.) All four books look like good arrivals for you. Happy Reading!

  6. I met David Sedaris once and he’s one of the only celebrities I got nervous to meet (I’m pretty sure I scared him). The journal book looks AMAZING. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

