Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 29/5/17

Last mailbox of autumn! It’s been rather wintry of late which makes getting up in the dark so much harder…but reading in bed so much easier!

I had an unexpectedly huge response to my post last week, ‘Why I Read What I Read’ – thank you to everyone who commented and reached out via social media.

On to the mailbox for the week…I won a prize from Hachette and in the parcel was not one, but two books! Thanks for the bonus!

Here Comes Trouble by Simon Wroe is set in the (fictional) country of Kyrzbekistan, a strange, secretive place. After Ellis is expelled from school, he is sent to work with his father on The Chronicle, the last bastion of free speech. Can he help save the newspaper, win the girl and fight for what he believes in?

I don’t think Maya Angelou’s I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings needs an introduction, but here it is anyway because I haven’t read it. It’s the first volume of her autobiography (there are seven in total), focusing on her childhood in America’s south in the 1930s.

I also bought a couple of books:

Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman is a high school story of Lacey and Hannah (aka Dex) who walk on the wild side after a tragic event. The girls know no boundaries and it’s becoming uncomfortable for the residents of their small town. But Lacey has a secret that could change everything…

Jennifer Scoullar’s Brumby’s Run is an Australian romance novel set in the high country. Sam’s life in turned upside down in quick succession as she finds she’s adopted, has a twin sister and that her sister is critically ill. She offers to look after her sister’s home in the country and gets along very well with her sister’s boyfriend. But what happens when her sister Charlie comes back to reclaim her home – and boyfriend?

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:


10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading 29/5/17

Add yours

  1. A couple of your books look good. I’m reading a Mary-Higgins-Clark that I picked up at a Biggest Morning Tea just over a week ago. It looks like brand new, and I’m loving reading it.

  2. Nice variety of books. I’ve never read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings which isn’t too surprising because I don’t read nonfiction. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  3. I had to chuckle – I’ve taken to putting on a sleep mask at 5:30 to keep the sun out and there you are in dark mornings.
    I like the look and sound of Brumby’s Run. Hope you have a good week and Happy Reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

