Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 12/6/17

The last week turned out to be unexpectedly busy with the best laid plans being discarded for less …interesting plans. Oh well. There’s always next weekend for fun. I was well rewarded with books this week in the mail, which was great as I didn’t get to the shops.

Jarulan by the River by Lily Woodhouse (out 19th June) arrived thanks to Harper Collins. It sounds right up my street – a large crumbling estate, a family spread to the winds and secrets of the past. Matthew Fenchurch lives alone on her once grand property by the river surrounded by employees, but not family. He decides to build a memorial for his dead soldier son and the rest of the boys lost in the community. This brings his family back to Jarulan with secrets and someone who will change the property’s future.

Don’t you think that What Happened That Night by Sheila O’Flanagan has a gorgeous cover? One night Lola has to make a life-changing decision. She does that quickly and missing a piece of essential information… Now her daughter Bey is faced with a decision of her own and everything changes for mum and daughter. Could mistakes turn into opportunities?

The Shark Club by Ann Kidd Taylor follows Maeve as she returns to the island where she grew up. Memories abound of first love Daniel and her attack by a shark. Can she forgive Daniel or is her handsome colleague Nicholas the man for her?

I’m so excited to receive Fiona Palmer’s latest novel, Secrets Between Friends. Out September, it’s about three friends Abbie, Ricki and Jess. Each has their own worries and missed opportunities and on a cruise to celebrate their 10 year reunion some of those secrets start to catch up with them…

Leaving Ocean Road by Esther Campion (released August) sounds like a warm read for those of us missing Maeve Binchy’s stories. Ellen has left Ireland for Australia and is now settled, although grieving for her husband. When Gerry, her first love, arrives in town Ellen rises above her grief. But a new set of problems occurs – can their love stand the passage of time, family and secrets revealed? Many thanks to Hachette for the above four books.

(Note: some of this week’s links are to Booktopia, an Aussie bookshop site as gremlins wouldn’t let me browse the publisher’s website for links.)

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

No idea!


9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 12/6/17

Add yours

  1. I really want to hear what you think of Greatest Hits. I loved her last book, The Versions of Us. Have a great week!

  2. I like your upcoming plans. I wish I could be spontaneous but my calendar is full of books I need to read and review. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

