Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 26/6/17

Last week was one of excess – eating a lot, being awake a lot, and doing a lot! My only plans for the weekend were to relax until Pokémon raids started! That meant some extra walking but the weather has been lovely. It really doesn’t feel like winter, more like spring! This week should be more settled as I don’t have any pressing deadlines (yet).

Here’s what I received in the mail, two from Hachette and two that I purchased:

I love the cover of Living the Dream by Lauren Berry (out July 11). It’s about Emma and Clementine, who are disgruntled in their jobs (or lack of them). As their thirties loom ever nearer, they realise they need to work hard for what they want – which might mean losing their day jobs. A quick flick through shows some great one liners (I know I can always rely on Virago for great books by women).

The Fatal Gate by Ian Irvine (released June 27) is the second book in the Gates of Good and Evil series. The Merdrun are now stranded in Santhenar, hoping to regain connection to the summon stone. Can Llian and the allies destroy them, even though their sky ships have never been tested, quests end badly and the fact that this is the most unequal battle ever?

Here’s what I bought:

Spinster by Kate Bolick is a book I’ve heard a lot about. It’s non-fiction, looking at the good and bad of living independently as a women in the modern age. I’m looking forward to reflecting on the history too.

Negroland: a memoir by Margo Jefferson is about growing up amongst Chicago’s black elite – the privilege and expectation at a time of great change in America. It reflects on race, class, sex and culture.

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 26/6/17

Add yours

  1. These all look very tempting! Although I haven’t read Danielle Steel in years, The Duchess reminds me of some of her older books that I did enjoy.

    I’m also curious about The Woman in the Wood. Thanks for sharing! Have a great week.

  2. I read The Woman in the Wood last week. Excellent reading! Loved it. I hadn’t read a Danielle Steel for years so I picked one up late last year but was quite disappointed. Look forward to your review on this one.

  3. I like the look of Woman in the Wood. I like the cover the The Duchess – haven’t read Steel in years. I don’t know any of your new books although they look like a nice mix. Happy Reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

