Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 10/7/17

Last week was the week to rug up and read books as it’s been cold, windy and rainy. It was also the week to try random new things like Pringles Butter Caramel. I learned that sweet chips are definitely not my thing! This week, I’m going to be trying some more new things – new authors and new treats (champagne Pocky anyone?).

I’ve been well behaved this week and not bought any books (in preparation for my holidays). I received some lovely books in the mail, which will also make for great holiday reading:

The Lone Child by Anna George (released 31st July) is about Neve, who lives with her newborn son in isolation. That is until she meets Jessie and her mother. Jessie is just what Neve needed and she’s eager to help Jessie out…but where do you draw the line? Thanks to Penguin for the copy.

The Destroyers by Christopher Bollen is about Charlie and Ian, childhood friends but very different. When Charlie disappears, Ian realises that amongst the web of deceits that they may just still be playing their old game of Destroyers. Thank you to Simon & Schuster – I really liked Orient, so I’m looking forward to this one.

The Way Back by Kylie Ladd (out August) was a prize thanks to Allen & Unwin and Goodreads. This is about another Charlie – a 13 year old girl. One day she goes for a ride on her horse and doesn’t return for months. Where has she been, what has happened and how do you put the pieces back together?

The Witchwood Crown by Tad Williams was a surprise from Hachette. This is the first book in a new series, the Last King of Osten Ard. Osten Ard has been a place of peace for over 30 years but as the king ages, discontent rises. In the North, the Norn Queen awakes and announces the end of humanity and with it, the possession of the Witchwood Crown. Can her armies succeed?

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

15 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 10/7/17

Add yours

  1. Nice sounding books. Strange to think you are snuggling up in the cold while we are staying inside away from the heat. Hope you have a good week and Happy Reading!

  2. They are telling us this week is going to be our cold snowy, icy week so we shall see. I have never read a Lesley Pearse book although I have seen my niece doing so.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

