Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 7/8/17

Wow, this last week was so busy. Even the weekend was full on! I really didn’t get much done of what I’d planned, but I guess that’s the way it goes sometimes. I’m hoping to make up some of it up over the evenings this week but we’ll see. I finished two books, but I really haven’t got stuck into the next couple yet.

I received two books in the mail and bought two last week, here they are:

We That Are Left by Lisa Bigelow was a win from Allen & Unwin and Goodreads. Released September, this book is set in Australia during World War II. Mae and Grace are two different women (one with a family, the other trying her hardest for a career) but united in finding out what’s happened in the fall of Singapore.

The Country Wedding by Barbara Hannay arrived thanks to Penguin Random House. Flora has arrived to play at a wedding, but there are two dramas she becomes entangled in. One, the failure of the bride to appear and two, a similar situation many years ago at the same church. As the past and present collide, Flora must also reflect on her own relationship.

I chose Vernon Subutex 1 by Virginie Despentes (translated from the French by Frank Wynne) for two reasons: the cover stood out and the title amused me. This is part of the Read the World series that has fiction translated from many countries. (I’m eager to learn more about this). Vernon is a down on his luck record store owner who has one last card to play, if only he knew it: the last recordings of a famous musician. Now everyone is on his trail…

The Answers by Catherine Lacey is a novel I’ve bookmarked and snapped pics of so many times that I had to grab it. It’s about Mary who signs up for The Girlfriend Experiment, devised by a famous actor to have various woman for all his different needs. Mary is the Emotional Girlfriend. But when the project starts, the girlfriends find unexpected issues.

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:



Up Next:

Something from the pile!

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 7/8/17

Add yours

  1. I just loved The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo. I listened on audio and the narrators were wonderful! The Answers has been in my TBR pile for a while now. I should really try to get to it.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

