Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 25/9/17

Today’s a holiday where I am, so I doubt I will even be awake when this post appears! I had a pretty busy weekend, including a trip to the Perth Royal Show. Always fun and always an opportunity to eat too much of something – this year it was gelato. Yum! For the rest of the weekend I caught up on different tasks, some fun and some that just had to be done.

I received two books in the mail and purchased these three cute Vintage Minis:

The Vintage Minis series are shorter books on a topic, extracted from an author’s works. I chose Language by Xiaolu Guo, which contains selections from A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers; Work by Joseph Heller (from Something Happened) and Race by Toni Morrison (selections from Song of Solomon, The Bluest Eye and Beloved). I thought it was a great way to try a new author or new story, plus the books fit nicely in small-but-fashionable handbags. I’ve already read Language and now I want to read the full book.

The Christmas Secret by Karen Swan (released 31st October) was thanks to Pan Macmillan. I enjoy Karen’s books for a cosy read. This is about Alex, executive coach and her newest client, Lochlan. Lochlan isn’t the typical CEO and on a remote island in the middle of winter, she is out of her depth with nobody being as they first seemed…

Demi-Gods by Eliza Robertson (released 2nd November) was a prize from Bloomsbury. Set in 1950, it’s the tale of two sets of children thrown together when their parents form a relationship. For Willa and Patrick, it’s the start of wicked games and charged encounters that can only end badly…

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:




What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 25/9/17

Add yours

  1. I wouldn’t be up yet if the electricians hadn’t shown up before 8 this morning. Nice looking assortment of books. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

