Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 30/10/17

Happy Halloween if you’re celebrating! I don’t really although I will probably do something a bit darker/moody with my makeup on the day. I can’t believe it’s nearly the end of October – soon I’ll be complaining about the heat and eating too much. (Might have to put those Lindt balls in the fridge). My week was pretty unexciting except that I found out my credit card had been hacked…not very happy with the bank’s response and actions (which were to do nothing).

On to much nicer things –books. I was lucky to receive four books in the mail and bought one. I couldn’t go past a physical copy of Rachael Johns’ latest!

Heather, the Totality by Matthew Weiner (yes, that guy from Mad Men!) came from Allen & Unwin. (It’s released on 8th November, RRP $24.99 AUD). It easily wins the prize for most gorgeous hardback book of the year with the see-through gold dust jacket. It’s about the Breakstone family and Heather, their daughter. She’s gorgeous and compassionate but as she grows up, she starts to attract a darker interest. A different life to Heather’s is beginning to orbit around her… I can’t wait to read this, as it sounds like it has the intensity of Mad Men in book format.

Woman Enters Left by Jessica Brockmole
(out now, RRP $27.99 AUD) involves Hollywood over two time periods. There’s Florrie and Ethel, doing a cross-country trip in a Ford Model T (those things are hard to drive!) to Hollywood and Nevada respectively in 1926. In 1952, Louise’s B star movie career isn’t going too well, but then she finds out she’s inherited the estate of Florence Daniels. She’s never met Florence, but there’s a lot of pictures of her mother there… This book also looks like ten kinds of awesome – I adore Golden Age Hollywood novels, plus the story is told in diary entries, letters and film scripts. Thanks Allen & Unwin!

The Maid’s Room by Fiona Mitchell (released 14th November) was from Hachette. It’s set in Singapore (a setting that I love to read about) and is about two maids, Dolly and Tala. Dolly can deal with the closed in life of being a domestic maid but Tala cannot. She risks everything to help her fellow maids and have their voices heard of the archaic rules they are forced to live by.

Strange Weather by Joe Hill
(released tomorrow) contains four short novels, all linked by weather. It’s not usual weather though – think solid clouds and deadly rain. There’s mystery, crime, an extra special Polaroid camera and madness. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that this book is being released on Halloween. Thanks Hachette!

Rachael Johns is one of my favourite authors in the entire universe so I just had to have a copy of her newest life-lit, The Greatest Gift on my shelf. I may have already started reading it! It’s about Harper, a radio host who feels she should be happy with her great life, but wants to contribute something more. Claire has always wanted a child, but can’t. Husband Jasper has accepted this, but Claire wonders if there is some way they can become parents so there are no regrets. Can they find someone to give them the greatest gift?

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:


What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

I honestly can’t decide (this is how you tell it’s nearly November in the book world!)

11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 30/10/17

Add yours

  1. This month and year just went too fast.

    The Maid’s Room looks good.

    The Greatest Gift has such a pretty cover.

    Have a good week, and I hope the credit card gets straightened out. Hate when that happens. My son’s was hacked, and people were trying to buy Apple computers.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

