Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 5/3/18

So it’s meant to be autumn, but the weather is truly summer! Isn’t that always the way? I think that calls for lots of late night reading… Plus there is the Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist and the Stella Prize shortlist this week – a great time for women writers!

Hot Pursuit by Rebecca Freeborn (for release May 1st) was a lovely surprise from Pantera Press. The blurb tells me it has everything I want in a novel – rock stars, glamour, gossip and a twist or two. Sarah is a journalist on the assignment of a lifetime. What a pity she’s working with her ex’s best friend! But the assignment is darker than expect, how much is she willing to risk for a scoop?

I bought the next two books simply because they looked interesting. Sympathy by Olivia Sudjic (yes, the cover has a cursor) is about Alice, a young woman who moves to New York. She becomes fixated on Mizuko Himura, a Japanese writer (her ‘internet twin’). Lies and families collide as Alice finds that everything can now be discovered online.

Atomic City Girls by Janet Beard is set in Tennessee during World War II in a place that doesn’t really exist. June and her friends are helping the war effort, but don’t really know how. When June discovers the truth behind her work, she will need to confront her own ideals.

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 5/3/18

Add yours

  1. Nice assortment of books. Atomic City Girls is catching my attention since I’ve been seeing it around a lot lately. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑