Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 3/7/17

It’s winter and is absolutely freezing cold! I’m writing this while wearing a blanket and my feet are tucked up under me in yoga like poses. My mouse hand is icy, so this will be short and sweet. I had a great reading week and new book week – see below.

Marry in Haste by Anne Gracie arrived from Anne herself – thank you! I really enjoy Anne’s historical romances because they are witty and fun. This one is about Calbourne Rutherford who returns to England to find he’s now Lord Ashenden, with estates and wild half-sisters to control. The only person who can control the girls is their governess Emmaline and they marry for convenience. But Emm is strong and not as meek as she seems and manages to seduce him. Could this turn out to be a marriage with more benefits?

Australia Day by Melanie Cheng was a prize from Text Publishing and Goodreads. It’s a collection of stories focusing on the desire to belong. It looks like a great read!

The World of Tomorrow by Brendan Mathews (out October) arrived from Simon & Schuster and it looks to be right up my street. It’s set in 1930s New York after Michael and Francis escape Ireland. Francis has escaped from prison and is pretending to be a Scottish lord. After an explosion rains money, it’s the high life for the pair and their other brother Martin. But a hitman is out to do one last job… This book was one of the BEA Buzz debut Novels for 2017.

I love Jojo Moyes’ books, so I had to get Sheltering Rain. The story starts in 1950s Hong Kong when Joy meets Edward. Marriage is not quite what she expected… Fast forward to when Joy’s daughter Kate disappears from the family home, only for history to repeat itself when Kate’s daughter leaves London. Sabine is looking for her grandparents, but finding them brings tensions to the surface…

I love a good dynasty, and I think The Bourbon Kings by J.R. Ward won’t disappoint. The first in a series, it revolves around the Bradford family, kings of bourbon and their staff. The staff and family don’t mix, until Lizzie (head gardener) falls in love with prodigal son Tulane. It doesn’t end well and when Tulane returns home, the past comes with him. (Thanks Books With Heart for the rec!)

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, do visit the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:



What I’m Reading at the Moment:


Up Next:

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 3/7/17

Add yours

  1. I read Sheltering Rain a couple of years ago (I think that’s how long it wa) and enjoyed it. Even though I haven’t read Danielle Steel in ages, and didn’t like the last ones I read, I’m curious about The Duchess.

    Enjoy your week!

  2. How kind of Anne to send you her book, I love the sound of it. I enjoy historical romance too. It always seems to have an air of mystery about it, being set in such a different time.

  3. Nice assortment of books. All of them are new to me. I hope you enjoy your armchair globe trotting. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

  4. I must check out Annie Grace’s works. I like being exposed to new, historical romance authors; I’m glad I checked out your post. The Bourbon Kings is a series I definitely want to read. And Danielle Steel is one I’m giving another try after tiring of her many moons ago.

  5. Oh my I think I want to read The Duchess. I think I saw either on Twitter or Instagram you tweet to Anne Gracie. Lovely. I have it on Kindle waiting….!!!! Trying to remember what part of Australia you are in that it is so cold! By the way I loved the Bourbon Kings.

  6. Seems strange for you to be freezing while we have such heat. You got a good haul this week. I’ve seen good things about Marry in Haste. I like the cover of Sheltering Rain. Hope you enjoy all of your books. Happy Reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑