Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 4/11/19

It seems that overnight the shops turned from Halloween to Christmas and people are ‘switched on’ to shopping. It could be a long holiday season. I did buy a few books this week, as well as win one.

Reboot by Jodie Fox was a prize from Wiley. Jodie was behind a great idea, Shoes of Prey, where you design your shoes and have them made within two weeks. The business took off like a freight train, turning over millions of dollars. Until it failed.

The Collaborator by Diane Armstrong has a dual timeline between 1944 and 2005. In 1944, Miklos attempts to save Hungarian Jews from the death camps, but there are consequences. In 2005, Annika sets out to find out more about the man who rescued her grandmother during the war.

Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo shouldn’t really need an introduction as it jointly won The Booker Prize this year. It’s about twelve people, mostly women, mostly black, and their life in Britain over many years. It looks a bit different to my usual reads in style, but I’m more than willing to give it a go.

Ducks, Newburyport by Lucy Ellmann was shortlisted for The Booker Prize. It’s a huge book of one sentence as a woman goes about her life, bombarded by facts, worries, the past and her family. It also has some great one liners.

If you want to look at other books received this week across the globe, drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies.

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is hosted by Book Date. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I read last week:


What I’m reading at the moment:



What I’ll be reading next:

4 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday and What I’m Reading: 4/11/19

Add yours

  1. The news indicated that holiday sales were starting 11/1 so the shopping is on.
    Interesting new books – all new to me. I hope you enjoy them all. Happy Reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑