Mailbox Monday 16/3/15: The ARRC15 Edition

As promised from yesterday’s wrap up of the Australian Romance Readers Convention, here is what I took home in terms of books. Can you see why I was worried about luggage limits now?

As there’s so many, I won’t go through all of them in detail, but I’ll provide some links to help you out should you want to know more.

This is what was in my conference bag, plus the copy of the book written by Shannon Curtis based on what romance readers wanted, Tribal Law (I’d pre-ordered this):

There were three Harlequin category romances, plus a book by Nalini Singh, who I haven’t read (but who has gorgeous handbags!). Kathryn Ledson’s Monkey Business is a romantic suspense/comedy featuring part-time vigilante Erica Jewell. The Brewer’s Tale by Karen Brooks is huge ā€“ I have an ebook copy but paper copies prompt me into reading stories sooner (visual guilt perhaps?). It’s about a woman who brews ale to save her family but things go terribly wrong.

These are the category romances picked up between two of us during the book signing (Harlequin was giving away free copies!). They are all signed by the authors! (Forever Romance, the pink/mauve one in the bottom right hand corner replaces the Sweet line. Little did I know that Harlequin gave away a heap of books at morning tea while I was getting some fresh air and this is the book that was left!)

Penguin and Destiny Romance also gave me a few free books, which was wonderful, thank you! I started Yes, Chef! by Lisa Joy on the second of my flights home and I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve read so far. It’s about a celebrity chef and a woman that works for him ā€“ she’s just been given the job as his PAā€¦ I think there’s going to be fireworks! Julie Garwood is an author I’ve been meaning to try (because that cover is great) and Fast Track combines romance with crime and corruption. I’ve enjoyed Jennifer Scoullar’s books before and this rural romance is set on a river and has first love reunited! Finally, The Family Farm is the only Fiona Palmer I don’t have, so I was super chuffed to get it. It’s about Izzy, who wants to take over her family’s farm but may have to sacrifice new love Will to do so. Thank you lovely Penguins!

The great guys at Booktopia were also very kind to me and not just in chocolate. Books! You may be able to tell I was getting a little romanced out at this stageā€¦ (I would also like to take this opportunity to state that no flight delays were caused by me wanting more time to read ā€“ whatever delayed the flight before me, I had nothing to do with it!)

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry was highly recommended to me ā€“ it’s a YA book that starts with Emily’s curiosity about her father. He’s part of a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror and Oz, who wants to join, is tested by being told keeping Emily safe. But could this bring the pair together ā€“ something nobody wants? Redemption Road by Lisa Ballantyne sucked me in by the dual narrative between 1985 and 2014. It’s about secrets, family ties and forgiveness. The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth was always going to appeal to Call the Midwife-addicted me (I even quoted Jennifer Worth in a uni essay once). It’s about a family of midwives that have a number of secrets buried that could be life-changing. I snuck upstairs to eat chocolate and read the first chapter- it’s really good! Last but not least, The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah is historical fiction about two sisters during WWII and how their lives change. Thank you Booktopia for your generosity!

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 16/3/15: The ARRC15 Edition

Add yours

  1. Phew. That is quite a haul. There is nothing like a large TBR pile as it gives you choice. I’ve always felt that you have to ‘feeling accepting’ of the book you select to read.

  2. Wow, that is a great bonanza of books! Aren’t conventions the best? The last one I attended, I was sadly unprepared for the haul…now I have wheeled luggage! LOL

    Enjoy…and thanks for visiting my blog. I loved The Secrets of Midwives and The Nightingale.

  3. I need to visit Australia so I can go to this con! Sounds like you had a blast and that you will have lots of romance books to read šŸ™‚ I really like Katie McGarry’s books and am eager to read Nowhere but Here. I also hear good things about Nalini Singh. So cool you got signed copies of so many books!
    Enjoy and have a great week, Sam.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑