Tango Love by Nicole Flockton

In brief: Melinda and James are housemates until one tango turns into a night of passion…

The good: It’s very, very, very steamy.

The not-so-good: It’s a novella, so you’ll read it quickly.

Why I chose it: Enjoyed Rescuing Dawn.

Year: 2014

Pages: 45

Publisher: Escape Publishing

My rating: 8.5 out of 10

Sometimes I long for a story that covers my commute in one go. It would also be great if it took me far away from the humdrum of a commuter train and a working day. Tango Love ticks these boxes, although it did last me slightly longer than one trip to work (more in a moment).

Tango Love opens as Melinda is surveying the bar scene, deciding she wants to take someone home tonight. To her surprise as she picks her man, she is cut off by her sexy housemate James. Melinda’s had a thing for James for ages, but she’d never let it show…they’re friends! But all it takes is one steamy tango for the pair to cross that border into a very sexy, hot night. But when James disappears next morning, Melinda’s left to rue what might have been just one mind-blowing night.

Sure, you know what’s going to happen here, but it’s just so much fun! The novella means the narrative moves along at a cracking pace but it doesn’t feel rushed or that it’s skipping things. And the night of passion…it’s very, very steamy. (In fact, I think Tango Love caused the humidity to rise significantly on the day I read it). It’s much sexier and prolonged than the love scenes in Rescuing Dawn (although they were more about healing Dawn’s pain and learning to trust). The reader also gets a lovely scene at the end, which is just as spicy (and happened to be the point where my work colleague asked to look at my Kindle…). What I also loved about this book was that the setting is kept somewhat ambiguous – we could be in Australia, America or almost anyway. Part of the fun I had was imprinting my own background setting on Melinda and James.

A fun read that definitely brightened my day. Who knew dancing could be so hot?

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑