Monday 4/1/16: Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Happy 2016! I’m hope it’s not too hot or cold where you are and that you have a great book to read. My first book of the year was a DNF so I’m hoping to find a gem or three in the books below. I did promise you this week to show you my fiction treats from Christmas, but first we have to talk about books in the mailbox and the additional bonus of birthday books! Clicking on the title will take you to the publisher’s page for that book (except for the Hachette titles – the website wasn’t working, so I’ve linked to the relevant page of the author’s website or the bookstore where it came from).

We only had two days of mail over the last week and all these pretties arrived on the same day. Summer Skin by Kirsty Edgar was a win from Allen & Unwin and Goodreads. It’s a YA book that sounds great for summer – it follows Jess, who is out for revenge after her best friend was shamed by a group of boys. It’s out in February. Sharon Guskin is a debut author with The Forgetting Time (released in February). Janie’s son Noah wants his mother, but that isn’t Janie. But is the answer one she wants to hear? Thanks to Pan Macmillan for the ARC. John Le Carre The Biography by Adam Sisman was from The Reading Room and Bloomsbury. It’s huge! Naturally, it’s about John Le Carre (aka David Cornwell) from his childhood, MI5 and MI6 days through to his life as an author.

These were the fiction books I received for Christmas (there’s still another category to go – hardcovers, which will be next week!). Journey Under the Midnight Sun by Keigo Higoshino (translated from the Japanese by Alexander O. Smith and Joseph Reeder is about a murder that has been unsolved for 20 years. Detective Sasagaki is determined to solve it and tracks two people linked to the case for decades. I don’t think Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling) needs too much introduction. It’s the third Cormoran Strike novel and involves a gruesome package delivered to Robin Ellacott. Can Strike find the culprit before things get desperate? Between Sisters by Cathy Kelly is about the women of Delaney Square – all have a secret or two.

The Crossing by Michael Connelly is the latest Harry Bosch thriller – Harry’s now left the LAPD and is suing the department with the help of Mickey Haller. But now Mickey needs help on a case… Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff is about Lotto and Mathilde – once madly in love and now it’s all complicated… Dawn French’s According to Yes is about a wealthy New York family that doesn’t do fun until the arrival of an English schoolteacher – what happens if they start saying yes?

Kate Morton’s The Lake House is another blockbuster that most of you are familiar with. There’s a dual narrative between modern day and 1933 as Alice’s family prepares for a party and Sadie finds an abandoned house while on leave. How are they linked and what is the story? Swimming Home by Mary-Rose MacColl
is about Louisa, a doctor in the 1920s who becomes guardian of her brother’s child, Catherine. Catherine is a gifted swimmer and soon she is swept up by a wealthy benefactor to attempt to cross the English Channel. But is it what she wants?

These are the two books I bought for myself for my birthday (helped somewhat by a Dymocks birthday bonus!). Unfortunately Cathy Sharp’s The Orphans of Halfpenny Street wasn’t for me – the idea is good, about an orphanage is post WWII London but I found it a heavy on the info dumping in the speech of the characters. I have read Katharine McMahon before, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy The Woman in the Picture, about one of the first female lawyers in Britain in the days leading up to the General Strike.

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

Swimming Home by Mary-Rose MacColl


What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

Print:

Hold On to Me by Victoria Purman

Up Next:

The Things We Keep by Sally Hepworth

19 thoughts on “Monday 4/1/16: Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Add yours

  1. What a haul! I’m looking forward to Fates & Furies – it’s had so much hype.

    How are you going with Versions of Us on audio? I loved the book but don’t reckon I could have kept track of the stories if I’d been listening to it rather than reading.

  2. Phew, what a haul. You have some reading time ahead of you. When I select my next book to read I have to ‘feel’ like reading that genre. I wonder if you are the same? Enjoy your books.

  3. Some fabulous books in the piles! I have bought The Lake House and Between Sisters. I liked the Sally Hepworth book and anything I have read by Victoria Purman was very enjoyable.
    So even though you had a DNF to begin with, its gone and look what’s in store!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

